Bots and Garrisons

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

Corsair4790805 #1 Posted 24 February 2021 - 07:23 PM

Senior Master Sergeant

• 1791 battles
  • [A-S-S] A-S-S

The other night I was in a battle where I performed sub-optimally - to the point that I messaged the other guy on my team to apologize for being a potato.

We chatted for a bit - he wasn't upset, but said he figured I was a newbie since I sent bots to one of the garrisons.   I'm not sure I'd call myself a newbie at 1500 battles, though I certainly play like a noob at times.  He recommended I look at VeeBat's new player videos (I did quite some time ago), as (IIRC) he said VeeBat tells people not to send bots to garrisons.

I did revisit VeeBat's newbie guide on tactics, and it in he discusses sending bots (via F2) to garrisons more than once (or at leas using the F2 key on garrisons).  

My general approach at battle start is to send bots to the 2 or 3 (depending on the total number of sectors) closest sectors, and then I'll head for the one that I'm closest and is most appropriate for my aircraft - sometimes I'll hang for a couple seconds to see where everyone else is going.   I also adjust this as needed based on other factors.

So my question to the crowd here is, is it pointless to send bots to garrisons?   I know that garrisons are the least valuable sector, and maybe that's what he was addressing, though I sent bots to non-garrison sectors as well.

The player was very nice, and I don't have any issues with him and I'm not calling him out (hence no names), just trying to understand if I'm missing something important regarding bots.

Lose_dudes #2 Posted 24 February 2021 - 07:28 PM

Command Chief Master Sergeant

• 1814 battles
  • [524] 524

View PostCorsair4790805, on 24 February 2021 - 07:23 PM, said:

The other night I was in a battle where I performed sub-optimally - to the point that I messaged the other guy on my team to apologize for being a potato.