Jump to content


Ground targets not displaying

GA GAA target HUD highlight

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

Leadlooser #1 Posted 08 May 2020 - 04:08 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 8986 battles
  • 147
  • Member since:
    11-25-2013

Hey, flyers,

      Often when flying GAAs, the ground targets will not appear on the HUD/game interface.  They are indicated on the minimap, but when one is over/near the objective, the ground targets are visible as standing structures, but are not highlighted as targets.

     This is to say, planes and the minimap highlight targets, but often the ground targets are not.

     Is this normal GAA play – know where one is attacking generally, but one needs visual, but unconfirmed (not highlighted) observation – targets are not ‘lit?’

     If so, UBER good on ya competent GAAs, bombers and mutiroles!

     At the moment it’s a shoot and watch for explosions to determine if a ground target is vulnerable.  Not all maps have the same destructible sites, so it would be great if ground targets would be highlighted consistently.

     Yep, I’m a noob.  I’d like to read any advice.



_Panzerkunst_ #2 Posted 08 May 2020 - 04:27 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 7646 battles
  • 211
  • Member since:
    01-11-2014
I read on the forum that it only happens at the start of the battle and once the sector is captured it displays properly. Just a bug. 
"If You Want Peace, Prepare For War."

J311yfish #3 Posted 08 May 2020 - 05:13 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 4158 battles
  • 1,440
  • [343] 343
  • Member since:
    12-13-2013

related

http://forum.worldofwarplanes.com/index.php?/topic/57017-bug-ground-targets-not-visible-when-pressing-alt/


Main tech tree projects:   JAPAN    UNITED KINGDOM  •  UNITED STATES    GERMANY  •  USSR  // aircraft to China

Europe tech tree projects:  ITALY    FRANCE    SWEDEN    Finland (skins•  Poland  •  International  //  Retired projects:  China    Brazil

Historical scenarios:  Spanish Civil War (skins•  Invasion of Poland  •  Winter War  •  Continuation War

Map proposals:   Panama Canal    Great Wall of China    Cliffs of Dover   //  Clan:  343 Kokutai  //  Tutorial:  How to ignore forum posts and signatures


Captain_Underpants53 #4 Posted 08 May 2020 - 05:21 PM

    Major

  • Member
  • 31772 battles
  • 5,139
  • [USMIL] USMIL
  • Member since:
    04-17-2017

Yes.  About a third of my bomber battles are like this.  Combined with the increased cloud cover they gifted us with, it hurts the game.

 

Why won't they fix it?  Some days it is a lot bigger problem than other days.  This has been reported, ticketed, discussed up the wazoo, and yet, here it still is.

 

:(


MSgt, USAF, (ret)

Leadlooser #5 Posted 08 May 2020 - 05:52 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 8986 battles
  • 147
  • Member since:
    11-25-2013

Thank you very much for the input.  Sadly I'm glad it's not just me.

 

Blindfold: please help fix this.



Captain_Rownd #6 Posted 08 May 2020 - 08:48 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 3718 battles
  • 1,784
  • Member since:
    09-28-2015
Not always, but far too often.  Sometimes when flying a bomber you have to let the enemy capture a sector and come back when the red ground target markers come up, which is crap. 

Favorites:

SPAD S.510:: MiG-3 :: I-250 :: Ju 88 P :: He 100 D-1 :: Caudron C.714 :: Me 329 :: MiG-9


Captain_Underpants53 #7 Posted 08 May 2020 - 09:02 PM

    Major

  • Member
  • 31772 battles
  • 5,139
  • [USMIL] USMIL
  • Member since:
    04-17-2017

View PostCaptain_Rownd, on 08 May 2020 - 03:48 PM, said:

Not always, but far too often.  Sometimes when flying a bomber you have to let the enemy capture a sector and come back when the red ground target markers come up, which is crap. 

Yes!  That is an understatement.


MSgt, USAF, (ret)

LMG #8 Posted 10 May 2020 - 12:11 AM

    First Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 2436 battles
  • 2,119
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

Yes, it's been a bug for a long time that hasn't really been fixed. I have no idea what causes it. It's not that big of an issue for me because I've played enough to tell ground targets apart simply by looking at the buildings, but for newer players and for high-flying bombers it can be a severe issue. Sadly it's unlikely we'll get a fix.

As a bonus fact, there is also a bug that I think was introduced with Invasion mode, where sometimes buildings will become invincible to gunfire while low at health. It's a rare bug, but can be game-breaking when it happens :amazed:


Edited by LMG, 10 May 2020 - 12:12 AM.

This is my IL-2 (t). There are many like it, but this one is mine. :child:

CorvusCorvax #9 Posted 10 May 2020 - 12:23 AM

    Major

  • Member
  • 4893 battles
  • 5,416
  • [OWSS] OWSS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostLMG, on 10 May 2020 - 12:11 AM, said:

Yes, it's been a bug for a long time that hasn't really been fixed. I have no idea what causes it. It's not that big of an issue for me because I've played enough to tell ground targets apart simply by looking at the buildings, but for newer players and for high-flying bombers it can be a severe issue. Sadly it's unlikely we'll get a fix.

As a bonus fact, there is also a bug that I think was introduced with Invasion mode, where sometimes buildings will become invincible to gunfire while low at health. It's a rare bug, but can be game-breaking when it happens :amazed:

IIRC, even though the targeting dots don't show up, you can still blow them up, right?  Not the gunfire-proof ones - I've never seen that one.



Captain_Rownd #10 Posted 10 May 2020 - 12:53 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 3718 battles
  • 1,784
  • Member since:
    09-28-2015

View PostCorvusCorvax, on 09 May 2020 - 02:23 PM, said:

IIRC, even though the targeting dots don't show up, you can still blow them up, right?

 

Yes, if you can see them and know that they're part of a target you can still attack them normally. 

 


Favorites:

SPAD S.510:: MiG-3 :: I-250 :: Ju 88 P :: He 100 D-1 :: Caudron C.714 :: Me 329 :: MiG-9


LMG #11 Posted 10 May 2020 - 06:09 AM

    First Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 2436 battles
  • 2,119
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostCorvusCorvax, on 09 May 2020 - 07:23 PM, said:

IIRC, even though the targeting dots don't show up, you can still blow them up, right?  Not the gunfire-proof ones - I've never seen that one.


Yes, the ground targets are still there and vulnerable, they're just not marked on the UI with the usual white dots.


This is my IL-2 (t). There are many like it, but this one is mine. :child:

Jockobeans #12 Posted 10 May 2020 - 06:38 AM

    Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 1862 battles
  • 76
  • [LNSTR] LNSTR
  • Member since:
    10-02-2015
I notice it has been happening much more often for me this week. Not sure why this is the case. 

Captain_Underpants53 #13 Posted 10 May 2020 - 11:33 AM

    Major

  • Member
  • 31772 battles
  • 5,139
  • [USMIL] USMIL
  • Member since:
    04-17-2017

Yesterday I had game after game with it.  It drives me nuts.  And since they decided to add those nice, opaque clouds to some of the maps, you often wind up blindly just dumping your bombs and hoping you get lucky.

 

:(


MSgt, USAF, (ret)

losttwo #14 Posted 10 May 2020 - 01:44 PM

    which way do we go?

  • Community Ace
  • 8970 battles
  • 14,772
  • [S-S-G] S-S-G
  • Member since:
    05-15-2012

View PostCaptain_Underpants53, on 10 May 2020 - 06:33 AM, said:

Yesterday I had game after game with it.  It drives me nuts.  And since they decided to add those nice, opaque clouds to some of the maps, you often wind up blindly just dumping your bombs and hoping you get lucky.

 

:(


any bomb over 6 inches should be hand lowered to avoid splash:hiding:



Catch21 #15 Posted 10 May 2020 - 02:02 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 5498 battles
  • 461
  • [DOG5] DOG5
  • Member since:
    05-19-2013

View PostLMG, on 10 May 2020 - 12:11 AM, said:

Yes, it's been a bug for a long time that hasn't really been fixed. I have no idea what causes it. It's not that big of an issue for me because I've played enough to tell ground targets apart simply by looking at the buildings, but for newer players and for high-flying bombers it can be a severe issue. Sadly it's unlikely we'll get a fix.

I always thought this might be a feature rather than a bug. You know, like calibrating equipment, where you pay a ton of sliver and mechanical parts only to find your equipment is worse than when you started. It can take a good few clicks and nearly bankrupt you before it finally goes in the right direction.:hiding:







Also tagged with GA, GAA, target, HUD, highlight

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users