Jump to content


Stick drifting


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

Kragenskjold #1 Posted 13 June 2019 - 08:59 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Alpha tester
  • 4300 battles
  • 29
  • [-BFS-] -BFS-
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
noticed this happening recently. stick just drifts up slightly. restarting the game seems to fix it. logitech attack 3. anyone else see this?

Stygian_Alchemist #2 Posted 13 June 2019 - 09:13 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 10771 battles
  • 1,951
  • [A-S-S] A-S-S
  • Member since:
    10-08-2018

View PostKragenskjold, on 13 June 2019 - 02:59 PM, said:

noticed this happening recently. stick just drifts up slightly. restarting the game seems to fix it. logitech attack 3. anyone else see this?

Haven't run a JS of any sort in years.. but -used- to when it started doing that it meant a spring or something was wearing out and the stick wasn't holding true center anymore. Resetting the game fixing it could indicate a software issue.. but also could just be placebo? How old is your stick/how rough are you on it and do you have another one to try and see if its still doing that?



GeorgePatton #3 Posted 13 June 2019 - 09:14 PM

    газета

  • -Community Ace-
  • 1525 battles
  • 5,413
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011

I play with M+KB but I do play other flight games/sims with a stick. I've encountered this in other games and it's usually something with the sensors in the stick - have you tried calibrating the stick outside the game to ensure it's not something with your particular stick?

 

I've noticed that sticks with a 'hand rest' at the bottom tend to do that most as the weight of your hand will put a very slight back pressure on the stick.

 

 

Cheers!
Glenn


                                                                                                                                 Click the Pictures to Visit My YouTube Channel.


losttwo #4 Posted 13 June 2019 - 09:25 PM

    which way do we go?

  • Community Ace
  • 5035 battles
  • 13,904
  • [S-S-G] S-S-G
  • Member since:
    05-15-2012

have you tried:

Posted Image



SkyWolf__WM #5 Posted 13 June 2019 - 10:00 PM

    Captain

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 8614 battles
  • 4,524
  • [GW__S] GW__S
  • Member since:
    07-13-2012

View PostKragenskjold, on 13 June 2019 - 03:59 PM, said:

noticed this happening recently. stick just drifts up slightly. restarting the game seems to fix it. logitech attack 3. anyone else see this?

Yeah. Your stick is wearing out. I buy a new one on sale at Newegg and drop an extra 5 bucks on the 3 year warranty. Start looking for a sale. :honoring:


***************Fail to Suck****************

I shall use my aircraft and my skill to slightly inconvenience mine enemies.


Chuck_norris10 #6 Posted 13 June 2019 - 10:40 PM

    Major

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 2098 battles
  • 6,374
  • [300SP] 300SP
  • Member since:
    03-02-2013

View PostKragenskjold, on 13 June 2019 - 01:59 PM, said:

noticed this happening recently. stick just drifts up slightly. restarting the game seems to fix it. logitech attack 3. anyone else see this?

yup...old problem,unplugging the JS and plugging it back in fixes a lot of JS problems even in flight.

Otherwise they are cheap to replace and they dont make them like they used to.

I still have my original from back in MS flight sim days on a pentium 2 that used a gameport because USB did not exist and it still works.

I have gone through 2 newer ones in about a year and I cant even seem to get my brand new hotas thrustmaster to be recognized by the game now.


 

 


 

losttwo #7 Posted 13 June 2019 - 11:43 PM

    which way do we go?

  • Community Ace
  • 5035 battles
  • 13,904
  • [S-S-G] S-S-G
  • Member since:
    05-15-2012
My thrustmaster will always recognize a hotas

mnbv_fockewulfe #8 Posted 13 June 2019 - 11:44 PM

    Captain

  • Member
  • 605 battles
  • 3,483
  • [3NIC] 3NIC
  • Member since:
    12-06-2013

If you're getting a new one, Logitech 3D pro is a good stick for wowp.

very compatible, although I like my thrustmaster X HOTAS better, it doesn't interface properly with wowp

 


Edited by mnbv_fockewulfe, 13 June 2019 - 11:44 PM.

Be sure to check your logic privileges before posting on the forum.

 


 


Chuck_norris10 #9 Posted 13 June 2019 - 11:58 PM

    Major

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 2098 battles
  • 6,374
  • [300SP] 300SP
  • Member since:
    03-02-2013

View Postmnbv_fockewulfe, on 13 June 2019 - 04:44 PM, said:

If you're getting a new one, Logitech 3D pro is a good stick for wowp.

very compatible, although I like my thrustmaster X HOTAS better, it doesn't interface properly with wowp

 

I cant even get the game to recognize mine so 3d it is.

You get 2 choices now,Logitech JS or mouse and KB.

Probably why I dont fly much anymore.

 


 

 


 

Ace_BOTlistic_Cosmo #10 Posted 14 June 2019 - 02:24 AM

    Captain

  • Member
  • 1119 battles
  • 4,665
  • [3NIC] 3NIC
  • Member since:
    01-26-2014

my JS doesn't drift up as much as it use to....

I do recommend plugging it in and out as often as you can

like they say,

if you don't use it you...

.

.

.should have bought the three year warrenty

and argued with some moron in the scam department

for three weeks...

just to be told you need to send them the old stick back

.

.

.

and them to tell you they are still waiting for the testing department to see your results

.

.

.

and then telling you 4 month later they'll be sending you a reconditioned JS in 1 more week

and you get it

.

.

it's the same broken JS you sent them.

.

yep,

so glad I gave them $6 for a warranty on a $25 disposable JS


if the pilot's good, see, I mean, if he's really..sharp, he can barrel that baby in so low [he spreads his arms like wings and laughs],

you oughtta see it sometime, it's a sight. A big plane like a '52. VRROOM! There's jet exhaust, fryin' chickens in the barnyard.


Deltavee #11 Posted 14 June 2019 - 03:13 AM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 2722 battles
  • 551
  • [RBL_] RBL_
  • Member since:
    12-19-2015

View PostKragenskjold, on 13 June 2019 - 03:59 PM, said:

noticed this happening recently. stick just drifts up slightly. restarting the game seems to fix it. logitech attack 3. anyone else see this?


I have a Logitech Extreme 3D Pro with a couple of years on it and yeah, it drifts to the left when no hand is on it...wear and tear imho.  I do tend to beat up on it. 

Drifting up that you can resolve with a game restart?  Interesting...guess it depends on how you hold your joystick.


Deltavee

Sic Itur Ad Astra

Such is the pathway to the stars

Flying NA and EU


GonerNL #12 Posted 14 June 2019 - 08:20 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 1098 battles
  • 1,277
  • Member since:
    01-17-2018

Logitech Extreme 3D is great, but it tends to wear out pretty fast. Depending on how you use it, I suppose ... flying bombers will not put too much pressure on the contacts.

I already used up 3 over the last couple of years. Might try the Thrustmaster T.16000M next time ... contacts are not so prone to wear and tear it seems.


Flying on EU, NA, ASIA and CIS servers

FreeAmmo #13 Posted 14 June 2019 - 11:05 AM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 6906 battles
  • 24
  • [R-A-W] R-A-W
  • Member since:
    01-05-2017

I use the thrustmaster 3d pro (36 bucks at walmart). They last about 3-4 months playing wowp, then the drift begins... sooo, in the trash it goes, order up another. There's vid on utube i think on how to fix them. I wonder if the new fighters with fly by wire have that problem... lol

 

 



Captain_Underpants53 #14 Posted 14 June 2019 - 12:52 PM

    Captain

  • Member
  • 22414 battles
  • 3,185
  • [A-S-S] A-S-S
  • Member since:
    04-17-2017
I got in the habit of keeping a Logitech Extreme 3D Pro as a spare.  When it starts that drifting process it means it's about to go south.  I usually get between 6 - 12 months out of one but I fly quite a bit.
MSgt, USAF, (ret)

SkyWolf__WM #15 Posted 14 June 2019 - 02:32 PM

    Captain

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 8614 battles
  • 4,524
  • [GW__S] GW__S
  • Member since:
    07-13-2012

View PostAce_BOTlistic_Cosmo, on 13 June 2019 - 09:24 PM, said:

my JS doesn't drift up as much as it use to....

I do recommend plugging it in and out as often as you can

like they say,

if you don't use it you...

.

.

.should have bought the three year warrenty

and argued with some moron in the scam department

for three weeks...

just to be told you need to send them the old stick back

.

.

.

and them to tell you they are still waiting for the testing department to see your results

.

.

.

and then telling you 4 month later they'll be sending you a reconditioned JS in 1 more week

and you get it

.

.

it's the same broken JS you sent them.

.

yep,

so glad I gave them $6 for a warranty on a $25 disposable JS

 

That has not been my experience at all. :sceptic:


***************Fail to Suck****************

I shall use my aircraft and my skill to slightly inconvenience mine enemies.


Ace_BOTlistic_Cosmo #16 Posted 15 June 2019 - 03:09 AM

    Captain

  • Member
  • 1119 battles
  • 4,665
  • [3NIC] 3NIC
  • Member since:
    01-26-2014

View PostSkyWolf__WM, on 14 June 2019 - 09:32 AM, said:

 

That has not been my experience at all. :sceptic:

I'm jus' shakin yer chain bro


if the pilot's good, see, I mean, if he's really..sharp, he can barrel that baby in so low [he spreads his arms like wings and laughs],

you oughtta see it sometime, it's a sight. A big plane like a '52. VRROOM! There's jet exhaust, fryin' chickens in the barnyard.


Kragenskjold #17 Posted 15 June 2019 - 08:35 AM

    Senior Airman

  • Alpha tester
  • 4300 battles
  • 29
  • [-BFS-] -BFS-
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
I can confirm it is not the hardware. I have tried different sticks of the same attack 3 model. I can also confirm that starting a new battle clears the drift without having to restart the client. It's at some point in a battle where the drift begins but I haven't pinpointed it, yet.

losttwo #18 Posted 15 June 2019 - 08:53 AM

    which way do we go?

  • Community Ace
  • 5035 battles
  • 13,904
  • [S-S-G] S-S-G
  • Member since:
    05-15-2012

View PostKragenskjold, on 15 June 2019 - 03:35 AM, said:

I can confirm it is not the hardware. I have tried different sticks of the same attack 3 model. I can also confirm that starting a new battle clears the drift without having to restart the client. It's at some point in a battle where the drift begins but I haven't pinpointed it, yet.

 

Have you tried holding your tongue in a different position.



Kragenskjold #19 Posted 18 June 2019 - 07:11 AM

    Senior Airman

  • Alpha tester
  • 4300 battles
  • 29
  • [-BFS-] -BFS-
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
DERP. I had remapped flaps to E and was hitting it using consumables. :p




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users