Jump to content


Pilots & Premiums Question


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

Ice_King #1 Posted 07 June 2019 - 11:42 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha tester
  • 880 battles
  • 64
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

I'm a little confused about how premium planes work with pilots, it seems different than the other WG games and that has me a little irked. 

 

It seems like you can put pilots into premium planes with no malus but they can't actually train up on points. Is this correct?

Attached Thumbnails


Edited by Ice_King, 07 June 2019 - 11:44 PM.


Stygian_Alchemist #2 Posted 08 June 2019 - 01:40 AM

    First Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 11450 battles
  • 2,294
  • [A-S-S] A-S-S
  • Member since:
    10-08-2018

View PostIce_King, on 07 June 2019 - 05:42 PM, said:

I'm a little confused about how premium planes work with pilots, it seems different than the other WG games and that has me a little irked. 

 

It seems like you can put pilots into premium planes with no malus but they can't actually train up on points. Is this correct?

 

They accrue XP normally without retraining 

Mercsn #3 Posted 08 June 2019 - 02:33 AM

    Captain

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 2616 battles
  • 3,299
  • [A-S-S] A-S-S
  • Member since:
    04-17-2013

IF the pilot is at 100% skill level in whatever aircraft he actually IS trained for, he will earn xp in the premium plane.  If he is less than 100% in his rated aircraft, he won't earn xp in the premium plane (last I tested, been a while, may have changed), but he will function as though he has 100% skill and all his perks will be at 100%, while he is in the premium plane.

 

So, your P-51A pilot is at 90% skill level and you put him in the P-80A.  He will have 100% skill level while in the premium, even though he's not at 100% in his tech tree plane, but he won't earn xp in the premium plane until he's trained at 100% in the P-51A. 

 

They may have removed that requirement to earn xp, I'll test later and update.   What that whole it about "not earning experience blah blah" is referring to him not earning experience towards being qualified on the premium (which, he can't because he's qualified on some other plane).  It's essentially really stupid translation from the #LazyRussian developer.


All the Important Thread Links (go here for answers!) Might be outdated!

All-in-one thread with 2.0 related guide links.

 

The below was said to me (Mercsn), from a concerned player:

Edited, on 12 March - 2:01PM , said:

and PS...play more, forum less.  Your opinion might be more credible.

hoom #4 Posted 08 June 2019 - 02:41 AM

    First Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 10220 battles
  • 2,019
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

Non-100% Pilot will earn XP towards the next skill point (I tested with screenshots a while back) but not towards Proficiency of the trained plane.

 

But with the 100,000 Silver retraining to 90% you always only need 10,000XP to get the Pilot back to 100% no matter how many skill points he's at.

Depending on circumstances that can be as low as a single Battle.

 

It is quite different to other WG titles where you do Silver retraining then play the crew in Premiums to complete proficiency to 100% but I like this one better myself.


Edited by hoom, 08 June 2019 - 02:42 AM.

C'est magnifique, mais ce n'est pas le SerB.

trikke #5 Posted 08 June 2019 - 10:08 PM

    Captain

  • Member
  • 3633 battles
  • 3,499
  • [R-A-W] R-A-W
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Ice, I know.     It's crazy, right?
Spittoon says #smarterpilotswinmore

SkyWolf__WM #6 Posted 08 June 2019 - 10:39 PM

    Captain

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 9641 battles
  • 4,662
  • [GW__S] GW__S
  • Member since:
    07-13-2012

View PostIce_King, on 07 June 2019 - 06:42 PM, said:

I'm a little confused about how premium planes work with pilots, it seems different than the other WG games and that has me a little irked. 

 

It seems like you can put pilots into premium planes with no malus but they can't actually train up on points. Is this correct?

 

I no longer switch aircrew after I DISMISSED an 11 skill IL20 tailgunner by accident. Yes, I'm that stupid. :amazed:
***************Fail to Suck****************

I shall use my aircraft and my skill to slightly inconvenience mine enemies.


CorvusCorvax #7 Posted 11 June 2019 - 12:12 AM

    Captain

  • Member
  • 4278 battles
  • 4,435
  • [OWSS] OWSS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostSkyWolf__WM, on 08 June 2019 - 10:39 PM, said:

 

I no longer switch aircrew after I DISMISSED an 11 skill IL20 tailgunner by accident. 

 

Holy crud, that hurts *me*.  I have always been concerned about losing a high-skill pilot/gunner, so I am continually buy barracks bunks.  I think I am currently housing 40+ personnel.  :/

crzyhawk #8 Posted 27 June 2019 - 01:15 AM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 3617 battles
  • 588
  • [3D_MI] 3D_MI
  • Member since:
    05-08-2015

Rather than start a new thread, I'll hijack this one which is pretty similar.

 

I've got the special pilot for my Spitfire Ia.  Now, I know his special ability will only work on the Spitfire Ia, but if I train him to another plane, when I drop him back to the Ia, will the special ability still work, or must he remain trained to the Ia?


Specialist A/C

USA: XP31; F11C-2; YP29; F2A-1; XF4F-3; Hawk 81-A1; XFL; XF4U-1; P39N; P-47B; F4U-1,-4ROC: Hawk II; Ki43c; Tomahawk IIb; P51K |

UK: Goldfinch; Type 224; Wirraway; Hurricane I; Boomerang; Venom; Spitfire I, Ia, XIV; Tornado; Mustang Ia; Japan: A6M2; A6M3 (exp); Ki61 |

Germany: FW56; AR67; BF109B, E-3, G; Spitfire V DB605 | USSR: LaGG 3(4); P40 M-105 |  EU: B534; S199





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users