Jump to content


Equip upgrading: Learn from my mistakes

upgrade equipment tokens tokens demount upgrade

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

Leadlooser #1 Posted 10 February 2019 - 09:57 AM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 5504 battles
  • 125
  • Member since:
    11-25-2013

In short:  APPLY EQUIPMENT TO A CHOSEN PLANE BEFORE UPGRADING IT!

     I think we all agree equipment upgrading system is ‘unpleasant.’  Claus Kellerman, WoT community contributor, would certainly say the Russian Number Generator (RNG) slot machine is F%^&#D, not LeadLead said ‘unpleasant.’  Please don’t sanction me WG.

     I just had a painful grind upgrading equipment for a mid-tier plane.  I don’t often buy the specialist status with in-game currency, but I had this time, (don’t remember when I did it).  I added three pieces of equipment and played roulette.  I didn’t really care about the first two.  As I said, I don’t do this often.  On the third time I counted the spins on the RNG wheel; 10+ and 26-, 601,200 credits 72 airframe elements, mechanical parts, flight instruments, and 36 heat-resistant parts gone and it is still only 468/478.

     It looks dirty and likely is, but it is all in-game currency, so whatever, right?

NOOOOOO!

     Feeling semi-satisfied with my upgrades, I was confronted by a screen that asked me to pay tokens for the transfer of the newly upgraded equipment from the planes on which it was previously equipped for three tokens each!

     I know that you forum readers are likely token elites, readily earning them in every game.  Cheers to you and your efficient, experienced, and excellent game play.  This post is in no way a slight to you folk.  For the lessers, myself included, tokens are hard to come by.

     This is to say that my underclassmen and I will have to get lucky with the RNG to recover the loss of three tokens for each ultimate part demounting.

     Furthermore, I couldn’t quit the APPLY screen.  I couldn’t shift to another plane or exit the game.  IT’S A TRAP – General Ackbar!  I chose to crash my computer and check to see what happened to my upgraded equipment.

     On rebooting, I found the upgraded equipment on the aircraft upon which they were installed before moving them to the plane I wanted to install them upon.  Those previous planes aren’t specialized so the equipment would not work properly on them.

     In the end I had to needlessly spend my tokens to uninstall them on the non-specialized planes.  I should have equipped the plane with the equipment and APPLIED it first, and then upgraded them.

     I would like to see the plane upon which the parts are currently equipped when choosing to equip a plane for battle.  Why is this not in the game, or is it?  Am I the only potato who hasn’t figured this out?

     To the sprouting potatoes: APPLY EQUIPMENT TO A CHOSEN PLANE BEFORE UPGRADING IT!



cobra_marksman #2 Posted 10 February 2019 - 02:25 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 6574 battles
  • 415
  • [R-A-W] R-A-W
  • Member since:
    01-28-2014

Did you not read the ......fine print..... no refunds for dumb mistakes. :amazed:

We created traps & pitfalls for you to fall in, or to get caught in. :trollface:

Once you do something like that we can....legally ...take them back from your account.:ohmy:

Now to answer you question:  No Token Refund for you.....Now go.:izmena:

Guess you'll just have to "once AGAIN " ... reach into your wallet and ......BUY... BUY... & BUY… more.....Tokens....:coin:


Edited by cobra_marksman, 10 February 2019 - 03:08 PM.


trikke #3 Posted 10 February 2019 - 03:24 PM

    Captain

  • Member
  • 3319 battles
  • 3,234
  • [R-A-W] R-A-W
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostLeadlooser, on 10 February 2019 - 04:57 AM, said:

     To the sprouting potatoes: APPLY EQUIPMENT TO A CHOSEN PLANE BEFORE UPGRADING IT!

 

all great advice, and i'm shocked that un-applied equipment can be upgraded...   seems that a text box should pop up and warn us

 

may i steal this thread and paraphrase it in the suggestions forum?

 

edit:  done


Edited by trikke, 10 February 2019 - 03:33 PM.

Spittoon says #smarterpilotswinmore

Captain_Underpants53 #4 Posted 10 February 2019 - 03:55 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 20721 battles
  • 2,968
  • [A-S-S] A-S-S
  • Member since:
    04-17-2017

View Posttrikke, on 10 February 2019 - 10:24 AM, said:

 

all great advice, and i'm shocked that un-applied equipment can be upgraded...   seems that a text box should pop up and warn us

 

may i steal this thread and paraphrase it in the suggestions forum?

 

edit:  done

 

Actually, the way I read it, he did have it installed on a plane.  Just not the one he wanted it to be on.

 

 


MSgt, USAF, (ret)

trikke #5 Posted 10 February 2019 - 08:54 PM

    Captain

  • Member
  • 3319 battles
  • 3,234
  • [R-A-W] R-A-W
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View Posttrikke, on 10 February 2019 - 10:24 AM, said:

 

all great advice, and i'm shocked that un-applied equipment can be upgraded...   seems that a text box should pop up and warn us

 

may i steal this thread and paraphrase it in the suggestions forum?

 

edit:  done

 

it's "done" all right

 

i misread the OP and posted in the suggestion forum what i had guessed he was saying

 

not what he actually was saying 

 

sorry, brother


Spittoon says #smarterpilotswinmore

cobra_marksman #6 Posted 10 February 2019 - 08:56 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 6574 battles
  • 415
  • [R-A-W] R-A-W
  • Member since:
    01-28-2014

Not completely positive about this, but I do believe that some of the gear is regulated to tier & type of plane. Aka. - tier 1  thru 4,  tier 5 thru 7 and tier 8 thru 10.-- fighters--multi's --heavy's--attack---and bombers.

You can't installed tier 3 fighter upgrades to a tier 7 heavy, Nor can you install attack ( Ga) tier 3 upgrades to a tier 7 bomber.

Apples  to apples,  &  oranges to oranges



legoboy0401 #7 Posted 10 February 2019 - 09:09 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 1493 battles
  • 1,552
  • Member since:
    11-30-2013

View Postcobra_marksman, on 10 February 2019 - 12:56 PM, said:

Not completely positive about this, but I do believe that some of the gear is regulated to tier & type of plane. Aka. - tier 1  thru 4,  tier 5 thru 7 and tier 8 thru 10.-- fighters--multi's --heavy's--attack---and bombers.

You can't installed tier 3 fighter upgrades to a tier 7 heavy, Nor can you install attack ( Ga) tier 3 upgrades to a tier 7 bomber.

Apples  to apples,  &  oranges to oranges

 

There is no class-specific equipment anymore. Only bombers without forward-firing weapons can't take any forward firing weapon equipment. Also, the Tier VIII French GAA gets turret equipment, so at least one GAA gets access to a slot that, for the most part, only bombers and Heavy Fighters that have rear guns can get access to.


An average player with an average goal: greatness, someday. Today, mediocrity will have to suffice. But no matter, I will always play to the best of my ability, and I will always strive to make the best of my ability just that little bit stronger and better.

 

#Failureisalwaysanoption

 

#Givingupneveris


wylleEcoyote #8 Posted 10 February 2019 - 10:26 PM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 4761 battles
  • 737
  • [ALAS] ALAS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
it is still regulated by tier though 1-4, 5-7, and 8-10

Fair warning. My success rate at speculative guesswork is very hit or miss. Usually I start on the right track and then a make a weird left turn and get lost in the weeds ... 
And yet it doesn't stop me from speculation.
Specialist Planes i have:
USA: XP-31, F1C-2, Model 81A-1, P-40, F4F, P-38F, P-39N-1, P-47B, P-38J, XF15C, XP-58 

USSR: Tu-1  UK: DH.100 F1. Japan: not even once. France: SE 100
Germany: Fw 56, He 112, Fw 190 A-5, Bf 109 B, Bf 109 E, Bf 109 E-3, Me209 A, Do 17 Z, Do 217 M, Hs 123, Ha 137, Hs 129 A, Ju 87 G, Me 265, Me 1099 B-2,  Bf 110 C-6, Me 410, Do 335 A-1,





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users