Tier 7 Day

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

Captain_Rownd #1 Posted 10 January 2019 - 11:52 PM

Senior Master Sergeant

• 822 battles

Today is my official entry into Tier 7 after I finally saved up enough to buy and outfit the tech tree I-220.  (I played my first Tier 7 battle in the VB 10 a few days ago)  I'm also working towards the Yak-3 soon.  Along with the Typhoon this is probably enough Tier 7 planes for me, since I'm a noob and play the sadly gimped joystick version of the game. 

I had a fairly hard time with the I-210 (76 battles), which was decent at everything and not really good at anything.  I-220 promises to be more of the same.  I'm starting with a Marksman 1 pilot, but will probably retrain for Engine Guru 1+2 when I get him up to 5 skill points? 

Captain_Rownd #2 Posted 11 January 2019 - 12:48 AM

Senior Master Sergeant

• 822 battles

I feel pretty comfortable in the stock I-220 except for the usual problem with low effective DPM because of rapidly overheating guns.  I was near the top of the team in losses, but only in the middle in the lone win.  20% win rate speaks for itself. Engine also gets knocked out a lot, but that might be more related to Tier 7 bigger guns than the aircraft? 

Edited by Captain_Rownd, 11 January 2019 - 12:52 AM.

CorvusCorvax #3 Posted 11 January 2019 - 01:20 AM

First Lieutenant

• 2212 battles
  • [JG52] JG52

Most of the Soviet planes are made of tissue paper and jet fuel - they damage and crit easily.  The Yak-3 is fantastic, BTW - you will love it.

You may think about getting marksman, so that your rapid overheat is minimized by getting the shots on-target.  Easy for me to say - I run German heavy fighters, which are usually the fastest aircraft at-tier.  If, after I get MMI and MMII, I might run ADE, and THEN, EGI  But that's 9 points. 

Congrats on T7.  T8 is a blast.  The Yak-15 is ridiculous.

Dru83 #4 Posted 11 January 2019 - 03:11 AM

Senior Master Sergeant

• 2805 battles
  • [X3M] X3M