GAA and Multirole Questions

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

Canoso77 #1 Posted 15 September 2018 - 02:31 PM

Airman Basic

• 212 battles

Hi, I'm new to Warplanes although I've played flight sims for some time.  I have some questions about what works in this game.

On lower tier aircraft such as the LBSh, Wirraway, and the IL-2 (mod), which tail gunner skills do you generally take first?   Is Defensive Fire preferable to Precision Gunner?  

Are the Hurricane II-D's 40mm cannon useful on armored ground targets?  They seem roughly comparable to the 37mm guns on German and Soviet GAA, but the only videos I've found on YouTube show people flying the II-D against other aircraft, so I'm wondering if in game the II-D is better at fighting other planes than in it's real life role of ground attack.  Or are the tech tree Hurricane II's quad 20 mm cannons better than the 40mm?   I enjoy the Hurricane I and being able to drop bombs as well as dogfight is fun, so I'm curious about how the 40mm cannon compare to the bombs in this game.

Thanks, everyone.  

SpiritFoxMY #2 Posted 15 September 2018 - 02:47 PM

Second Lieutenant

• Closed Beta Tester
  • 2744 battles
  • [R-A-W] R-A-W

Personally I take Precision Gunner over Defensive as Ground Attack planes generally have the hitpoints to take a beating and critting their pilot, engines or control surfaces will take them out of the fight in a jiffy.

Haven't played the IId but the big derp guns are not as good as bombs and rockets at taking out ground targets and the plane being a multirole lacks the hitpoints to survive extended ground pounding. Planes like the Stuka G, Ju88P and the Duck are alright for sniping soft targets on the ground but taking out heavy buildings is a challenge - and these are dedicated ground attacks.