Jump to content


XML and JoyStick Sensetivity


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
120 replies to this topic

Professor_Sarcasm #41 Posted 28 June 2012 - 11:52 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 233 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
I've gone through the forums. . . read the joystick fixes, tried them. . . nothing changes.

Using a Logitech Attack 3.

Works fine on every other game and sim I use it on. . . except, you guessed it, WoWp.

No matter what I try.. . there is always a half-second to full second of lag on all axises. Even the trigger. On the rare occasion the aircraft goes in the direction I want to go at something approaching the time I want to go that way, I can put a burst into an enemy plane. . . press, release, before a single shot is actually fired. Of course. . . by the time the guns fire, my target is out of frame.

It gets better. . . the deadzone is manually set (xml edited) to less than half of the lowest value that I've seen recommended - and there is still the same half-a-throw of deadzone in the stick as with the stock settings. Again, nothing changes.

(found a whole slew of posts about the bad controls. . . glad I'm not losing my mind)

Edited by Professor_Sarcasm, 29 June 2012 - 01:52 AM.


ispeedonthe405 #42 Posted 29 June 2012 - 06:03 AM

    Airman Basic

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 9
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Yes, the lag between stick action and game reaction is obvious. You can close your eyes and detect it by sound alone; goose the trigger and you hear two clicks (press, release) and *then* the bullets fly. That's in the ballpark of 500ms.

My fps is typically over 100 and my network is fine, so we can eliminate those sorts of questions.

Diligence #43 Posted 29 June 2012 - 12:21 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha tester
  • 0 battles
  • 81
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostProfessor_Sarcasm, on 28 June 2012 - 11:52 PM, said:

I've gone through the forums. . . read the joystick fixes, tried them. . . nothing changes.

(found a whole slew of posts about the bad controls. . . glad I'm not losing my mind)

3.1 Joystick XML changes no longer working?
http://forum-na.worl...longer-working/

View PostEmjas, on 29 June 2012 - 03:02 AM, said:

...the XML files, they moved them, they're now in:
users/%username%/AppData/Roaming/wargaming.net/World of Warplanes/



ispeedonthe405 #44 Posted 29 June 2012 - 04:02 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 9
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostDiligence, on 29 June 2012 - 12:21 PM, said:


Editing the new/moved config files will allow him to set the deadzone but it doesn't address the latency issue.

CGB_IceNinja #45 Posted 29 June 2012 - 11:53 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha tester
  • 0 battles
  • 34
  • [72ND] 72ND
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Edit the joystick curves in the xml :Smile_smile:

Gaming Rig:-
OS : Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. - Processor : AMD 64X2 4400+ 2.21GHz. - Ram : 2.0 Gig.
Video Main: GTX 275 896 MB. & Physics : 9800+ 512 MB on nVidia. Driver Vr:301.42
JoyStick : Logitech Extreme 3D Pro. Driver Vr:Lgs510 - KeyBoard/Mouse : Logitech G15 Vr.1 and G5.

spittoon #46 Posted 30 June 2012 - 02:49 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Alpha tester
  • 0 battles
  • 1,991
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
WG will never verify this, but it's both smart and easy for them to code a 500ms input lag for jsticks

smart, because casual tank players wouldn't buy a jstick just to try wowp... and prob not even try it, if they already 'think' that js users will easily own them

is there anyway we can spoof win7 to think a jstick is actually a mouse?

 

 

honoring all those who fought, and especially all those who fell


Orion03 #47 Posted 30 June 2012 - 11:23 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 530 battles
  • 64
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Anyone got a curve for a Saitek X-52 pro ? I am very unhappy that my joystick doesn't work very well atm, not as well as the mouse anyway.

Stoutlagger #48 Posted 01 July 2012 - 01:38 AM

    Airman Basic

  • Alpha tester
  • 0 battles
  • 9
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostOrion03, on 30 June 2012 - 11:23 PM, said:

Anyone got a curve for a Saitek X-52 pro ? I am very unhappy that my joystick doesn't work very well atm, not as well as the mouse anyway.

I need a curve for the same stick. I had mine setup perfect before the patch, but the patch squashed it. Now I can't find the original thread I got my curve from before. Please help.

Edit* Nevermind, I found the thread http://forum-na.worl...rs/page__st__20

Edited by Handbanana, 01 July 2012 - 01:52 AM.


Panzerwolfie #49 Posted 21 August 2012 - 10:03 AM

    Airman Basic

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Hello there, unfortunately I am a bit of a noob when it comes to code like this. I understand a little about the curve, I think, though not how to implement it. At the moment I have trouble with oversteering. When I want to make the little adjustments to get the sights on target, my plane wobbles like crazy from left to right. Reducing sensitivity to nearly nothing helps a little. Could this be the curve you mentioned?

I use a Thrustmaster T-flight Stick X. Don't know if that matters much. I don't think so though.

In short, how do I put the OP text in the joystick file? (or does it go anywhere else? like I said. I'm a Noob. )

[edit] I found this thread explaining the curve.
http://forum.worldof...ak-gui-concept/
That makes sense now. i also see that I can't change the curve as I don't have the program to do so. Beside that I don't want to mess up the programming through ignorance.

ATM my  roll curve is:

0.0 0.0

0.1 0.05

0.2 0.2

0.3 0.3

0.5 0.6

0.8 0.9

1.0 1.0


It's the same for yaw and pitch. I think that the first 30% should be less 1:1

So I guess I'm looking for a better joystick file. :-)

Edited by Panzerwolfie, 21 August 2012 - 10:15 AM.


Jinxed_Katajainen #50 Posted 21 August 2012 - 01:16 PM

    Feedback Airedale

  • Alpha tester
  • 47 battles
  • 2,444
  • Member since:
    01-28-2012

View PostPanzerwolfie, on 21 August 2012 - 10:03 AM, said:

It's the same for yaw and pitch. I think that the first 30% should be less 1:1

So I guess I'm looking for a better joystick file. :-)

You can try my settings.  I had the same probem with the latest patch where I lost my fine aim adjustment because of the 1:1 curve.
It's 2:1 until 70-80%

0.0 0.00

  

0.01 0.005

  

0.1 0.05

  

0.2 0.10

  

0.3 0.15

  

0.4 0.20

  

0.5 0.25

  

0.6 0.30

  

0.7 0.35

  

0.8 0.55

  

0.9 0.75

  

1.0 1.0



moodybas #51 Posted 21 August 2012 - 04:19 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 14
  • Member since:
    03-20-2012
Horokew do you use that for yaw, roll and pitch speed curve?  thanks in advance for your reply :)

Jinxed_Katajainen #52 Posted 22 August 2012 - 12:52 AM

    Feedback Airedale

  • Alpha tester
  • 47 battles
  • 2,444
  • Member since:
    01-28-2012
I use that for all 3 axis.

moodybas #53 Posted 24 August 2012 - 01:38 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 14
  • Member since:
    03-20-2012
Works great thanks mate :)

MajorArtery #54 Posted 28 August 2012 - 03:35 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Greetings;

I'm trying to find a similar fix like the one above for joysticks, but for a gamepad. I am using a PS3 controller set up the way you have it posted in another .. post .. however the pad is so overly sensitive I keep over turning and over correcting. I would assume a similar fix can be done for gamepads?

Hopefully thankful!

R_Bassett #55 Posted 28 August 2012 - 05:21 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 1
  • [GBA] GBA
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
ok i changed my default XML in the joystick section with the following :
Spoiler                     


but now my joystick doesnt work at all in game as if it wasnt plugged in. can anyone help me with what i have done wrong?

2REP #56 Posted 30 August 2012 - 05:25 AM

    Airman Basic

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    08-27-2012
great thread! my gampad (Saitek Rumble) works fine after tweaking the XML .. thanks everyone for their input~

BadSinclair #57 Posted 01 September 2012 - 10:10 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
How can i change my PS3 Controller in the default.xml i only find the keyboard and the joystick?!

MajorArtery #58 Posted 02 September 2012 - 12:29 AM

    Senior Airman

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Perform the above steps as outlined and it will affect the gamepad as well.

2REP #59 Posted 02 September 2012 - 10:44 AM

    Airman Basic

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    08-27-2012

View PostBadSinclair, on 01 September 2012 - 10:10 PM, said:

How can i change my PS3 Controller in the default.xml i only find the keyboard and the joystick?!

try modifying the Joystick section in the XML

Tridgit #60 Posted 19 September 2012 - 06:37 AM

    Senior Airman

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 10
  • [EP1] EP1
  • Member since:
    04-22-2012

View Postspittoon, on 30 June 2012 - 02:49 AM, said:

WG will never verify this, but it's both smart and easy for them to code a 500ms input lag for jsticks

smart, because casual tank players wouldn't buy a jstick just to try wowp... and prob not even try it, if they already 'think' that js users will easily own them

is there anyway we can spoof win7 to think a jstick is actually a mouse?

TBH, jstick users *will* easily own them (even with the silly delay). The default mouse control is so asinine that there is no reason for the casual WoT player to stick around.

That being said, first page of this thread, the XML file modification... I love you man. Worked like a charm, I actually got my first 'real' kill today!




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users