Jump to content


Unable to Fly - Battle Black Screen of Death

black screen unplayable disconnection battle button

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

SpiritFoxMY #1 Posted 01 August 2018 - 03:08 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 2197 battles
  • 1,537
  • [R-A-W] R-A-W
  • Member since:
    12-31-2012

Black screen when loading into battle. Sound of bullets whizzing by and distant explosions but can't hear anything else and the entire screen is black. After a while it tells me my connection to server was lost and drops me back to Warplanes login screen where I can still hear the ambient map noise rather than standard sound. Trying to log back into the Hangar, I get connection errors and now the sound of the hangar is mixed in with the ambient map noise on top of the Warplanes loading screen

 

 -  game server name: NA
 - ingame name: SpiritFoxMY
 - steps to reproduce: Click battle button
 - screenshots/videos: Nothing to show. Its just a black screen
 - game client mods present: No
- used control device: mouse & keyboard
- game logs, dxdiag files: Attached (dmp not permitted on this forumj)
- number of Support ticket submitted: 2621314

- Video: https://fil.email/S3JCvUbr (Available for 7 days, 200+MB)

 

 

Attached Files


***

But a truce to this mournful story

For death is a distant friend

So here's to a life of glory

And a laurel to crown each end


SpiritFoxMY #2 Posted 01 August 2018 - 03:20 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 2197 battles
  • 1,537
  • [R-A-W] R-A-W
  • Member since:
    12-31-2012

Oh, and on top of this, I cannot do anything with my settings. The thing won't even load, let alone let me check if my controls were messed with. Can't even click on any of the tabs in settings. Only hitting "esc" works

 


***

But a truce to this mournful story

For death is a distant friend

So here's to a life of glory

And a laurel to crown each end


FlakValleyExpress #3 Posted 01 August 2018 - 04:29 PM

    Captain

  • Member
  • 25 battles
  • 3,884
  • Member since:
    02-09-2012

I know this is boring to say repeatedly, but have you clear the WoWP Cache? Has the WGCheck tool found any problems?

 

https://na.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wows/article/19498/

 

I am just covering the basics. If still not fix at least you have a WGCheck report to submit to WG tech Support.

Good luck to you in your fix. Lets us know how this turned out. :honoring:

 


Edited by FlakValleyExpress, 01 August 2018 - 04:31 PM.

1.X WoWP veteran - Airborne Scout - Class of 1.0

Vae victis

Update 2.0 - It's not a bug, it's a feature

"Battle is the Great Redeemer. It is the fiery crucible in which true heroes are forged. The one place where all men truly share the same rank, regardless of what kind of parasitic scum they were going in."

 


jack_wdw #4 Posted 01 August 2018 - 05:17 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 727 battles
  • 324
  • Member since:
    09-28-2012
check ...multiple times

SpiritFoxMY #5 Posted 01 August 2018 - 05:23 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 2197 battles
  • 1,537
  • [R-A-W] R-A-W
  • Member since:
    12-31-2012

Thanks to Krautjager, I've run just about every diagnostic there is. I've:

 

1. run and submitted the WGCheck Report along with the ticket

2. run sfc /scannow 

3. run DISM /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

4. run WGC Repair

5. deleted all files in the Update directory

6. run QuickSFV and matched it with Krautjager's working copy of Warplanes

7. replaced app_type.xml and game_info.xml with versions from Krautjager's working copy of Warplanes

8. Checked Pingplotter

9. Checked Events Viewer

 

The closest things got to working was after replacing app_type.xml and game_info.xml. At that point I actually saw the waiting queue screen, unlike previously where it was straight to black. But as soon as the game started loading in, it just went black again. 


 


***

But a truce to this mournful story

For death is a distant friend

So here's to a life of glory

And a laurel to crown each end


Captain_Underpants53 #6 Posted 01 August 2018 - 09:13 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 10773 battles
  • 222
  • [FK] FK
  • Member since:
    04-17-2017
I really don't know but maybe it's time to delete the game and reload it?  Also I would recommend a reboot of your computer at least once a week.
MSgt, USAF, (ret)

Ace_BOTlistic_Cosmo #7 Posted 02 August 2018 - 03:15 AM

    Captain

  • Member
  • 565 battles
  • 3,089
  • [3NIC] 3NIC
  • Member since:
    01-26-2014

View PostSpiritFoxMY, on 01 August 2018 - 12:23 PM, said:

Thanks to Krautjager, I've run just about every diagnostic there is. I've:

 

1. run and submitted the WGCheck Report along with the ticket

2. run sfc /scannow 

3. run DISM /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

4. run WGC Repair

5. deleted all files in the Update directory

6. run QuickSFV and matched it with Krautjager's working copy of Warplanes

7. replaced app_type.xml and game_info.xml with versions from Krautjager's working copy of Warplanes

8. Checked Pingplotter

9. Checked Events Viewer

 

The closest things got to working was after replacing app_type.xml and game_info.xml. At that point I actually saw the waiting queue screen, unlike previously where it was straight to black. But as soon as the game started loading in, it just went black again. 


 

 

video card/controller driver update

could be corrupted...

delete and reload

also,

windows driver update as LAST RESORT

do video driver update first


if the pilot's good, see, I mean, if he's really..sharp, he can barrel that baby in so low [he spreads his arms like wings and laughs],

you oughtta see it sometime, it's a sight. A big plane like a '52. VRROOM! There's jet exhaust, fryin' chickens in the barnyard.


SpiritFoxMY #8 Posted 02 August 2018 - 12:01 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 2197 battles
  • 1,537
  • [R-A-W] R-A-W
  • Member since:
    12-31-2012

Thanks everyone for the support. WG Support came through for me this morning and I've just gotten home and tried out their suggestion - it seems to work. Had one flight in my tier II Ar98 and the settings are fully accessible. 

 

I'll keep the ticket open until after my flight up with trikke tonight but it seems to have done the job. 


Edited by SpiritFoxMY, 02 August 2018 - 12:01 PM.

***

But a truce to this mournful story

For death is a distant friend

So here's to a life of glory

And a laurel to crown each end


SpiritFoxMY #9 Posted 02 August 2018 - 12:19 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 2197 battles
  • 1,537
  • [R-A-W] R-A-W
  • Member since:
    12-31-2012

.bat file attached at gerr22's request. Krautjager says its basically deletes the regular cache and profile. You can open it in note to have a look.

 

 

Attached Files


Edited by SpiritFoxMY, 02 August 2018 - 12:33 PM.

***

But a truce to this mournful story

For death is a distant friend

So here's to a life of glory

And a laurel to crown each end


GonerNL #10 Posted 02 August 2018 - 12:31 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 567 battles
  • 191
  • Member since:
    01-17-2018

More or less the same as these scripts do : https://eu.wargaming.../article/10628/

 


Flying on EU and NA server

SonicPariah #11 Posted 06 August 2018 - 08:37 PM

    Community Manager

  • Administrator
  • 416 battles
  • 644
  • [WGATX] WGATX
  • Member since:
    05-22-2016
Very glad our team could get this sorted out!

SlappedbyRommel #12 Posted 07 August 2018 - 11:24 AM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 1381 battles
  • 267
  • [JG52] JG52
  • Member since:
    01-13-2017

View PostSpiritFoxMY, on 02 August 2018 - 12:01 PM, said:

Thanks everyone for the support. WG Support came through for me this morning and I've just gotten home and tried out their suggestion - it seems to work. Had one flight in my tier II Ar98 and the settings are fully accessible. 

 

I'll keep the ticket open until after my flight up with trikke tonight but it seems to have done the job. 

 

Thanks for posting this I had black screen this morning except not tabs as in your screen shot. Also ran the zip file rebooted and it is back to normal plus as a added bonus the issue I had with my mouse and the free camera mode is now gone I can actually play with the mouse again just when I was getting used to the joystick - btw the devs need to work on joystick functions more. But again thanks for the post it helped.

blindfoId #13 Posted 07 August 2018 - 01:49 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Administrator
  • 5 battles
  • 129
  • Member since:
    07-19-2018

If there's a need, I might add this instruction to the list of F.A.Q. 

 

Thank you, SpiritFoxMY, for sharing the information!






2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users