Jump to content


Horrible ping and packetloss


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

Toiletduck #1 Posted 29 May 2018 - 09:01 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 213 battles
  • 28
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

Okay since my bomb drop post I started to look at my ping and packetloss more closely.  Yall mentioned it might have been lag.  

 

Sure enough, it's lag.. and a LOT of it. I dont have this issue with any other game.  Not even the other WG products.   I have a 100+Mbps connection and my pings in most games are 10 to 20ms.  A "high" ping for me in another game is 60.

 

In this game, my pings don't go lower than 200 and I am constantly getting 20 to 50% packetloss..  Of all my other complaints.. this one will make me stop playing.   Thoughts?   Is this a server thing?  Do yall have this issue with this game?  No other game produces anywhere near this kind of issue.. 

 

Thoughts?


 

---

"Quack!" - Toiletduck


mnbv_fockewulfe #2 Posted 29 May 2018 - 09:08 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 247 battles
  • 2,521
  • [3NIC] 3NIC
  • Member since:
    12-06-2013

200 ping sounds like you're on he west coast.

The server is on the east coast in washington D.C. I believe.  


Be sure to check your logic privileges before posting on the forum.

 

mnbv_fockewulfe.png


 


pyantoryng #3 Posted 29 May 2018 - 09:22 PM

    Colonel

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 1413 battles
  • 8,034
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
I'm getting packet loss too...and not only in Planes but Ships also...

WoWP makes a great jousting game...especially with the 262 and people busy in furballs...
I am deaf, silent, and fly with unrealistic controls. Do not count on me to carry - my back's already broken from overweight.

Toiletduck #4 Posted 29 May 2018 - 10:59 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 213 battles
  • 28
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View Postmnbv_fockewulfe, on 29 May 2018 - 09:08 PM, said:

200 ping sounds like you're on he west coast.

The server is on the east coast in washington D.C. I believe.  

 

Newp.  Georgia.

 

---

"Quack!" - Toiletduck


LMG #5 Posted 29 May 2018 - 11:17 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 1641 battles
  • 1,345
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

You might want to submit a ticket for it. They'll most likely ask you to run a ping test with the WG Repair Tool to check at what point the issue comes up


This is my IL-2 (t). There are many like it, but this one is mine. :child:

SpiritFoxMY #6 Posted 30 May 2018 - 01:45 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 1677 battles
  • 1,345
  • [R-A-W] R-A-W
  • Member since:
    12-31-2012

It was mostly this reason I dropped out of Closed Beta all those years ago. I still suffer through 250 - 300 average ping but it doesn't seem to have a serious impact on my performance.

 

Packet loss is a different matter and its the reason I have my WiFi dongle plugged into the front of my machine so I can do a quick n dirty connection reset by unplugging and plugging back without dropping out of the game altogether. It usually helps solve the packet loss issue.


***

But a truce to this mournful story

For death is a distant friend

So here's to a life of glory

And a laurel to crown each end


Toiletduck #7 Posted 30 May 2018 - 02:29 AM

    Senior Airman

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 213 battles
  • 28
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

It's not me.  I used pingplotter and discovered that its the last 2 hops.  My average ping all the way to their servers is 40 until it hits their server where it goes over 100 each hop with 10 to 15% packet loss. 

 

I've submitted a ticket.. But I don't know what they can do.. 

 


 

---

"Quack!" - Toiletduck


bjorn1984 #8 Posted 30 May 2018 - 05:49 AM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 2522 battles
  • 302
  • [JG52] JG52
  • Member since:
    09-01-2015
I have had some issues with packet loss, but very random, and nothing really report-able.
Check out my online content
Facebook: www.facebook.com/The_Mighty_Bjorn1984-525235531209893/
Youtube: www.youtube.com/channel/UCSJ6ptZRxCBV4MVqsOAI6TQ
Twitch: www.twitch.tv/mightybjorn1984

Toiletduck #9 Posted 30 May 2018 - 02:31 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 213 battles
  • 28
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
dunno.  Their home page takes ages for me to load sometimes and the ticket system too takes forever sometimes..  Again, its their servers. So sayeth the tool they recommend even..  This will cause me to stop playing.  Makes me think this is telling about the game population as a whole.

 

---

"Quack!" - Toiletduck


Chuck_norris10 #10 Posted 30 May 2018 - 07:41 PM

    Major

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 120 battles
  • 5,406
  • [300SP] 300SP
  • Member since:
    03-02-2013

View PostToiletduck, on 30 May 2018 - 07:31 AM, said:

dunno.  Their home page takes ages for me to load sometimes and the ticket system too takes forever sometimes..  Again, its their servers. So sayeth the tool they recommend even..  This will cause me to stop playing.  Makes me think this is telling about the game population as a whole.

 

We went through this over a year ago and I think they had most players running pingplotter and they refused to accept it was on their side but with a lot of the playerbase unable to play and topic after topic posted they fixed it. We never did find out what the problem was and it was fixed overnight after a month at least of severe packet loss.

 

 


 

SonicPariah #11 Posted 30 May 2018 - 11:57 PM

    Community Manager

  • Administrator
  • 268 battles
  • 413
  • [WGATX] WGATX
  • Member since:
    05-22-2016

There may be some issues with certain providers on our Servers. We will see if there is any standing pattern.

 

One suggestion we like to try is to make sure that all Ports are Forwarded on your connection through your ISP.



trikke #12 Posted 31 May 2018 - 10:43 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 1729 battles
  • 1,216
  • [R-A-W] R-A-W
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

i run ping plotter continuously, and i'll see packet loss daily from Raleigh, unless i reboot my Uverse modem before flying 

 

maybe i've got the russian VPN hacky thingy?    i'm blaming that for why i can't break 60% to save my life!


Spittoon says #smarterpilotswinmore

MafiaMatt #13 Posted 03 June 2018 - 12:41 AM

    Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 2480 battles
  • 76
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
I second the lag.  The gameplay becomes really choppy when I'm flying and it is hard to aim at times.

Bobby_Tables #14 Posted 03 June 2018 - 02:01 AM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 2602 battles
  • 904
  • [-DOW-] -DOW-
  • Member since:
    06-16-2014

I have been using Cloudflare's DNS service for about the past 3 months after hearing about it.  I cannot give you any empirical data but it does seem like I do not see as many pauses, hiccups and packet loss issues.  It could just be coincidence however.  

 

You can find more by googling Cloudflare DNS or 1.1.1.1

 

Not sure if this will help, but it's such a simple thing to try, it's worth a shot.  



trikke #15 Posted 03 June 2018 - 03:43 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 1729 battles
  • 1,216
  • [R-A-W] R-A-W
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
both 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1 are blocked on ATT Uverse here in Raleigh, so cloudflare doesn't seem to be available to us 
Spittoon says #smarterpilotswinmore

Toiletduck #16 Posted 05 June 2018 - 11:49 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 213 battles
  • 28
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostLMG, on 29 May 2018 - 11:17 PM, said:

You might want to submit a ticket for it. They'll most likely ask you to run a ping test with the WG Repair Tool to check at what point the issue comes up

 

I have.  After a very long song and dance where they repeatedly sent me canned responses trying to get me to reset my router, dns, ip, reboot, clear my browser cache..etc..  I just closed the ticket.  Basically, the tact they seem to be taking is that it's my fault, not the server.  Never mind that pingpotter (the software they suggested I use) clearly shows there is server lag / latency and packet loss AT THEIR SERVER.  Seriously, last two hops (their machines according to whois) are completely crap.   

 

And they wonder why they have no players. 

 

View PostSonicPariah, on 30 May 2018 - 11:57 PM, said:

There may be some issues with certain providers on our Servers. We will see if there is any standing pattern.

 

One suggestion we like to try is to make sure that all Ports are Forwarded on your connection through your ISP.

 

I have played the game through Windstream, Verizon and AT&T.  I have used Tunnel bear and VyperVPN.  I have done this on multiple machines.  Sometimes, it's great.  Sometimes it's laggy as hell with packet loss.   Pingplotter so far always shows the packetloss is happening at your servers. 


 

---

"Quack!" - Toiletduck





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users