Joystick recommendations

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

Krumhorn #1 Posted 30 January 2018 - 05:31 PM

Senior Airman

• 8583 battles
  • [OWSS] OWSS

I am thinking of getting a joystick to use with WOWP.  I have never used one before.  What are the pros and cons of these? Are they better than a mouse, etc.?

The 4 default settings that are present in the game are for the following joysticks: 1) Logitech Extreme 3D Pro, 2) Thrustmaster  T.16000 M, 3) Thrustmaster  T Flicht Stick X, and 4) Seitek Cyborg V.1 Flight stick.

I suspect that the ones that have default settings in the WOWP "settings" menu are probably less trouble to set up and use in WOWP ( and probably are less likely to cause trouble when playing).  Which of the default ones are the best?  Are there others that are better and easy to set up and use without crashing, etc.?  Thanks.

NorthernPorter #2 Posted 30 January 2018 - 05:56 PM

Senior Master Sergeant

• Alpha Test Veteran
  • 1652 battles

I think the benefits to using a joystick are that you don't run out of desktop space when banking like you do with mouse control. The joystick gives more of a flying feeling when playing. You can map commands to buttons on the stick so they are quicker to hit.

I'm undecided though if I get better control from a joystick or the keyboard & mouse. At least with WoWP that is. If in an actual flight sim, then the only way to go is a joystick or yoke.

I have a cheap Saitek now, and it gets the job done but could be better.

My friend had a Thrustmaster Flight Stick X, and the thing was neat, it had force feedback so it would shake when you were hit. That got annoying though so we turned it off. It worked well enough.

My favorite was a Logitech Wingman that I used for a long time. It eventually broke after years of use and us moving. I really liked it though and would consider getting another.

Edited by NorthernPorter, 30 January 2018 - 05:58 PM.