Mikoyan-Gurevich, Yakovlev, or Lavochkin?

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

Gloryhund #1 Posted 15 December 2017 - 05:10 AM

Senior Airman

• 38 battles
I've more or less settled on Soviet aircraft in my playtime, but I honestly don't understand the differences in playstyle and usage in these three aircraft (probably because I'm a newbie). Can someone enlighten me on the differences with these aircraft lines, the differences between the two (and maybe a comparison to competition from other nations)?
I'm a dreamer, I'm a memer, I'm a midnight schemer

Lt_Haruhi_Suzumiya #2 Posted 15 December 2017 - 07:59 AM

Senior Master Sergeant

• 819 battles

I tried nearly every plane in branches till Tier 7. before 2.0(sigh)  and haven't tried soviet Tier 8-10 fighters, so I can't provide info bout higher tier, and I guess my info are bit outdated.

Yakovlev Light (Yak-1/3/15) - great maneuverability, so-so engine but with terribly awful altitude limit(you will get engine performance penalty if you climb higher than that).  not good but not bad firepower

Yakovlev Multirole(Yak-7/9s) - nearly same spec with Yakovlev lights, but this thing have 37,45,57mm BFG compared to tiny little 20-23mm gun from Yakovlev lights but costed bit of maneuverability.

Lavochkin - good maneuverability, good engine with bit bad altitude limit. maybe.   La-7 sucks but La-5 and La-9 has good firepower too

MiG - Compared to another three turnfighters does, this thing is working as High alt BnZ   good engine with good altitude limit. but so-so maneuverability. don't perform turnfight with Yakovlevs or Zeros

Currently on 2.0,  I have Yak-3 and Yak-9U on my airport, both are good plane on 2.0...

but according to my personal experience from former 1.x,  I prefer Lavochkin than Yakovlevs.

Specially, goddamn La-9 is annoying to engage as hostile.

I guess, This pilot is worst teammate when you are on match, *Facepalm

Former 2.0 stat.
7155 matches,  53.12% win rate, Hall of fame 772.