I-15 which plane hull is right?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

Vonholtz #1 Posted 02 November 2017 - 07:31 AM

Airman Basic

• 121 battles

I am new to WoWP but not WG or plane games. So I am working my way up the line of Russian planes. I saw some thing that I wounder about. the pic of the I-15 is one with the top wing coming out the hull of the plane. But the model in game has a top wing that run across the top of the plane. which one is right? From what I see both are called I-15. But why do we have different picture from the plane in game?

Attached Files

• Attached File   main-qimg-330f45b684f6d2927ae450eeca63cab7.png   117.72K
  • Attached File   300px-Polikarpov_I-15bis.jpg   21.23K

jack_wdw #2 Posted 02 November 2017 - 07:47 AM

Senior Master Sergeant

• 21 battles
first i-15 model had the seagull  wing
I-15 bis reverted back to the straight wing (mostly due to visibility)
with the third version (i-153) , in-game it only existed as a premium, they reverted back to the seagull-wing.

Colddawg #3 Posted 02 November 2017 - 12:53 PM

Master Sergeant

• Alpha tester
  • 241 battles

When in doubt, look up variants of the aircraft.  WG hides variants of aircraft and tanks in their module upgrades.

Take a look at the F4U-1 tier 6 US multirole fighter.  With the .50 cal MGs the model is the F4U-1(A), but switch the guns to the 20mm cannons and it becomes the F4U-1C.  Also if you look at the description of the airframes you can often see the variant designation of the aircraft even though the plane's game designation never changes.

Perfect example in WoT:  IS tier 7 Soviet HT.  The IS with the 85mm is the IS-1, but as soon as you add on the IS-2 (w/upgraded turret) it becomes the IS-2 but it is still called the "IS" in game.

Keep your head on the swivel.

GhostPrime #4 Posted 02 November 2017 - 04:53 PM

Community Coordinator

• Administrator
  • 19 battles
  • [WGA-B] WGA-B

View PostColddawg, on 02 November 2017 - 04:53 AM, said: