Jump to content


Getting WoWP to work on my new laptop...

install wgc wowp

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

pyantoryng #1 Posted 20 June 2017 - 06:31 PM

    Colonel

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 941 battles
  • 7,504
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

I got my new laptop today, and of course, I got to get WoWP to run.

 

Installation (through WGC) took like 5 hours and some more, including stoppages along the way. When the installation finishes I get infinite load spinning...of course it's the region settings. Fiddled with it thrice until I finally get it to work.

 

WoWP...only for Russians and Americans.........................I was right to not use SSD for it...so troublesome...



WoWP makes a great jousting game...especially with the 262 and people busy in furballs...
I am deaf, silent, and fly with unrealistic controls. Do not count on me to carry - my back's already broken from overweight.

RedSpartacus #2 Posted 20 June 2017 - 06:40 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 0 battles
  • 1,521
  • [GW__S] GW__S
  • Member since:
    02-02-2014
5 hours, and nothing else was running like Windows updates ?
  RUN WITH THE PACK

pyantoryng #3 Posted 20 June 2017 - 06:44 PM

    Colonel

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 941 battles
  • 7,504
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostRedSpartacus, on 20 June 2017 - 06:40 PM, said:

5 hours, and nothing else was running like Windows updates ?

 

Guess it's just my wireless connection...after all, there's only one usable cable (obviously, in use) and the router is pretty high up...and the signal extender just dilute it so much the end result is crap connection in bursts.

 

Anyway...you don't need English locale, just the setting in the first tab of region setting set to US to get WoWP to work.


Edited by pyantoryng, 20 June 2017 - 06:44 PM.


WoWP makes a great jousting game...especially with the 262 and people busy in furballs...
I am deaf, silent, and fly with unrealistic controls. Do not count on me to carry - my back's already broken from overweight.

GhostPrime #4 Posted 20 June 2017 - 07:00 PM

    Community Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 64 battles
  • 2,252
  • [WGA-B] WGA-B
  • Member since:
    04-22-2013

View Postpyantoryng, on 20 June 2017 - 10:44 AM, said:

 

Guess it's just my wireless connection...after all, there's only one usable cable (obviously, in use) and the router is pretty high up...and the signal extender just dilute it so much the end result is crap connection in bursts.

 

Anyway...you don't need English locale, just the setting in the first tab of region setting set to US to get WoWP to work.

 

Do you have a single band router?


Please read the WOWP Game and Forum rules.
Forum Rules - Game Rules - EULA - TOS
Find us on Facebook!


pyantoryng #5 Posted 20 June 2017 - 07:07 PM

    Colonel

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 941 battles
  • 7,504
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostGhostPrime, on 20 June 2017 - 07:00 PM, said:

 

Do you have a single band router?

 

I don't know...never paid attention to what kind of router I am using...not that deeply at least.

WoWP makes a great jousting game...especially with the 262 and people busy in furballs...
I am deaf, silent, and fly with unrealistic controls. Do not count on me to carry - my back's already broken from overweight.

Mackunaima #6 Posted 20 June 2017 - 08:49 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 3 battles
  • 1,622
  • Member since:
    04-09-2012

View Postpyantoryng, on 20 June 2017 - 03:31 PM, said:

WoWP...only for Russians and Americans.........................I was right to not use SSD for it...so troublesome...

 

Y not use SSD?


"Certainty of death. Small chance of success. What are we waiting for?" - Gimli

 


pyantoryng #7 Posted 20 June 2017 - 08:54 PM

    Colonel

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 941 battles
  • 7,504
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostMackunaima, on 20 June 2017 - 08:49 PM, said:

 

Y not use SSD?

 

It's the small, 120GB type and OS is taking like a third of it already. Saving it for The Sims 3...that thing's load time is legendary.

WoWP makes a great jousting game...especially with the 262 and people busy in furballs...
I am deaf, silent, and fly with unrealistic controls. Do not count on me to carry - my back's already broken from overweight.

ArrowZ_ #8 Posted 20 June 2017 - 09:46 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Open Beta Tester
  • 166 battles
  • 2,684
  • Member since:
    08-04-2013

If you save a little over $100 usd you can get a decent 250gb ssd. More than enough to install a SD version wowp.

 

The way i see it, theres 2 problems limiting your entry into the hangar. One of which everyone is experiencing (WGC). The other.... I have no idea. Never encountered any region settings issue whenever I reinstall wowp. How do u experience this problem? Is there a way to replicate it? 


That Ozi Client Side Lagger

 


GhostPrime #9 Posted 20 June 2017 - 10:37 PM

    Community Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 64 battles
  • 2,252
  • [WGA-B] WGA-B
  • Member since:
    04-22-2013

View Postpyantoryng, on 20 June 2017 - 11:07 AM, said:

 

I don't know...never paid attention to what kind of router I am using...not that deeply at least.

 

If the router is further away, a Dual (or higher) band router may help you. 

View PostArrowZ_, on 20 June 2017 - 01:46 PM, said:

If you save a little over $100 usd you can get a decent 250gb ssd. More than enough to install a SD version wowp.

 

The way i see it, theres 2 problems limiting your entry into the hangar. One of which everyone is experiencing (WGC). The other.... I have no idea. Never encountered any region settings issue whenever I reinstall wowp. How do u experience this problem? Is there a way to replicate it? 

 

​Are you changing the region in WGC after the game is installed, and downloading the language files? 

 

 



Please read the WOWP Game and Forum rules.
Forum Rules - Game Rules - EULA - TOS
Find us on Facebook!


pyantoryng #10 Posted 20 June 2017 - 11:09 PM

    Colonel

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 941 battles
  • 7,504
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostArrowZ_, on 20 June 2017 - 09:46 PM, said:

If you save a little over $100 usd you can get a decent 250gb ssd. More than enough to install a SD version wowp.

 

The way i see it, theres 2 problems limiting your entry into the hangar. One of which everyone is experiencing (WGC). The other.... I have no idea. Never encountered any region settings issue whenever I reinstall wowp. How do u experience this problem? Is there a way to replicate it? 

 

Change the format setting in region setting to anything other than English US and WoWP get infinite loop on load. It's what keeping me from running WoWP on my desktop for half a year or so, which means it had been happening before WGC became mandatory for WoWP.

 

My Laptop is on US format and Japanese locale and I can run WoWP...I had changed everything to US English prior to switching locale back to Japanese, so it's the format that govern whether WoWP NA would ron, not the locale.

 

View PostGhostPrime, on 20 June 2017 - 10:37 PM, said:

 ​Are you changing the region in WGC after the game is installed, and downloading the language files? 

 

 

I fiddled with the system region settings after WoWP was fully installed and I found out that I cannot get into hangar and efforts at region emulation (which is how I get it to work on Win 7 desktop) failed...that's when I narrowed it down to format setting that affects WoWP's running.

 

I don't think it's about WGC per se...


Edited by pyantoryng, 20 June 2017 - 11:13 PM.


WoWP makes a great jousting game...especially with the 262 and people busy in furballs...
I am deaf, silent, and fly with unrealistic controls. Do not count on me to carry - my back's already broken from overweight.

ArrowZ_ #11 Posted 20 June 2017 - 11:59 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Open Beta Tester
  • 166 battles
  • 2,684
  • Member since:
    08-04-2013

 

 

I hope this is what you're talking about in terms of Region Settings in the OS (I couldn't find anything WGC or can't recall in the old launcher whether we could change our locale or region settings).

 

So I tried a few tests. All resulted in me being able to log in. Now I do run Windows 10. This is what I have experienced.

 

Test #1: Formats - English (United Kingdom), Location - United Kingdom

Result = Logged into hanger with no hang

 

Test #2: Formats - English (United States), Location - United States

Result = Same

 

Test #3: Formats - English (Singapore), Location - Singapore

Result = Same

 

At this point Im thinking... wth? Where is the problem coming from? So for my 4th test I just went with something random.

 

Test #4: Formats - Arabic (Somalia), Location - Botswana

Result = Can still login into hangar

 

I even tried your locale with a different format (English (Switzerland)), still can login with no issues. Not sure if the OS being used has any factor into this (My win10 OS is currently up to date), or something is blocking your connection to enter the hangar. Could be a firewall issue? GP would be the best bet to get more info sadly. I tried :(

 

Edit: Forgot to mention. I did all this through the WOWP executable (not WGC).


Edited by ArrowZ_, 21 June 2017 - 12:19 AM.

That Ozi Client Side Lagger

 


pyantoryng #12 Posted 21 June 2017 - 02:36 AM

    Colonel

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 941 battles
  • 7,504
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

Changed region settings bac k to Japan/Japan/Japan (my usual setting) and after reboot still can log in...funny.

 

Seems like you do need the correct region setting to login first...and not on subsequent logins. I don't think anything explains better how region change suddenly make WoWP go from infinite loading spin to working...

 

BTW, can't turn on Windows Firewall for some reason so it's likely not there...nor there are third-party firewalls.

 

 


Edited by pyantoryng, 21 June 2017 - 02:37 AM.


WoWP makes a great jousting game...especially with the 262 and people busy in furballs...
I am deaf, silent, and fly with unrealistic controls. Do not count on me to carry - my back's already broken from overweight.

ArrowZ_ #13 Posted 21 June 2017 - 05:47 AM

    First Lieutenant

  • Open Beta Tester
  • 166 battles
  • 2,684
  • Member since:
    08-04-2013
I don't think there's any game out there that gives this much trouble just to login. Also it seems like an isolated issue. Unless others report having experienced the same thing. What OS you currently running pyan?

That Ozi Client Side Lagger

 


pyantoryng #14 Posted 21 June 2017 - 10:16 AM

    Colonel

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 941 battles
  • 7,504
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

Well, I can login today after coming home from work...on my Win 10 brand new laptop. The region issue came up back a long time ago when an update broke the game and someone said to change the region, which turned out to be the solution. I did region emulation, and it worked...of course, it was a long time since, and it was in time forgotten.

 

Recently, some guy from EU encountered the infinite loading issue and got WoWP NA to work by changing the region...http://forum.worldof...reenway-to-fix/

Which reminded me of the region solution, and emulating the region worked again on my Win 7 desktop.

 

Now, on my Win 10 laptop I can't emulate region on such a big thing like WoWP anymore, but after that one time I could login (after setting region to US), I changed my settings back to all Japan, and it still works...In fact, I'm queuing in for a battle as I type this (early hour, long wait)...

 

Next...to see if the permanent region solution will work on desktop...



WoWP makes a great jousting game...especially with the 262 and people busy in furballs...
I am deaf, silent, and fly with unrealistic controls. Do not count on me to carry - my back's already broken from overweight.

Mackunaima #15 Posted 21 June 2017 - 12:14 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 3 battles
  • 1,622
  • Member since:
    04-09-2012

To avoid open WGC, just go to C:\Games\World of Warplanes\wowp.exe (something like that, you just need to find the wowp launcher)

 

Right click mouse -> Attach on toolbar.

 

You will be able launch WoWP withou WGC.


"Certainty of death. Small chance of success. What are we waiting for?" - Gimli

 


pyantoryng #16 Posted 21 June 2017 - 12:24 PM

    Colonel

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 941 battles
  • 7,504
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostMackunaima, on 21 June 2017 - 12:14 PM, said:

To avoid open WGC, just go to C:\Games\World of Warplanes\wowp.exe (something like that, you just need to find the wowp launcher)

 

Right click mouse -> Attach on toolbar.

 

You will be able launch WoWP withou WGC.

 

Well, it's not about WGC per se. I do the usual WGC avoidance routine on every machine I install WGC in. Everything was done direct through the executable.

 

...and an update: I changed region setting to US on Win 7 desktop (Format and region, first and second tabs respectively) and WoWP works right there...but when I change back it returns to infinity load spin mode. I didn't try rebooting though.



WoWP makes a great jousting game...especially with the 262 and people busy in furballs...
I am deaf, silent, and fly with unrealistic controls. Do not count on me to carry - my back's already broken from overweight.

ArrowZ_ #17 Posted 21 June 2017 - 12:38 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Open Beta Tester
  • 166 battles
  • 2,684
  • Member since:
    08-04-2013
Welp, that is one puzzling situation. Atleast it works sometimes right? Better than nothing I suppose.

That Ozi Client Side Lagger

 


Mackunaima #18 Posted 21 June 2017 - 12:40 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 3 battles
  • 1,622
  • Member since:
    04-09-2012

View PostArrowZ_, on 21 June 2017 - 09:38 AM, said:

Welp, that is one puzzling situation. Atleast it works sometimes right? Better than nothing I suppose.

 

Looks like WG pattern.. :trollface:

"Certainty of death. Small chance of success. What are we waiting for?" - Gimli

 


pyantoryng #19 Posted 21 June 2017 - 02:13 PM

    Colonel

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 941 battles
  • 7,504
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

So basically...I can run WoWP on my Win10 laptop fine now...for Win7 desktop I'll just stick to locale emulating...because it's still possible...

 

Funny how WoWP is the only one to be sensitive to region when the other two isn't...must be the fact that WoWP has no such thing as Asia server...:hiding:



WoWP makes a great jousting game...especially with the 262 and people busy in furballs...
I am deaf, silent, and fly with unrealistic controls. Do not count on me to carry - my back's already broken from overweight.

Claudio67 #20 Posted 22 June 2017 - 03:41 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Open Beta Tester
  • 220 battles
  • 1,519
  • Member since:
    08-03-2013

I always had the region settings in Spanish/Argentina since Beta times (Windows 7 I guess, maybe even XP) and now Win 10 (in Spanish, on every case), and never had troubles at login or hangar loading... I couldn't update WoWp when the WGC made its debut, had to uninstall and reinstall from scratch, with some annoyances (emulate Win 7 or XP to make it work), updated one time more (to 1.9.10) more or less flawlessly.

Your mileage may vary, as it seems...







Also tagged with install, wgc, wowp

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users