Jump to content


"game center" now mandatory


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

DrSinister #41 Posted 11 May 2017 - 01:54 AM

    High-Tech Medic

  • -Community Ace-
  • 4769 battles
  • 3,915
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

Yeah, I have been using the new Launcher for a couple months now (was part of the CPT, when I got it).  It merged my WoT, WoWp, and WoWs games with no issue.

 

I have my Unified Launcher to not auto update, but to notify me when there is an update and I choose if I want to update or not.  Also when I am done with playing a WG game, I also go to the system tray and right click and close the Launcher so that it is not using up any resources.  I can also close it while I am in game, or just like others have suggested only use the Launcher to update the games and use a shortcut for the .exe to launch the game.

 

Only suggestion I have is that, like other launchers, that there should be a option to allow me to click the X to fully close the launcher instead of minimizing to the system tray.



Zapperguy #42 Posted 11 May 2017 - 12:04 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • -Community Ace-
  • 32630 battles
  • 2,303
  • [CLOWN] CLOWN
  • Member since:
    04-04-2012

View PostDrSinister, on 10 May 2017 - 09:54 PM, said:

Yeah, I have been using the new Launcher for a couple months now (was part of the CPT, when I got it).  It merged my WoT, WoWp, and WoWs games with no issue.

 

I have my Unified Launcher to not auto update, but to notify me when there is an update and I choose if I want to update or not.  Also when I am done with playing a WG game, I also go to the system tray and right click and close the Launcher so that it is not using up any resources.  I can also close it while I am in game, or just like others have suggested only use the Launcher to update the games and use a shortcut for the .exe to launch the game.

 

Only suggestion I have is that, like other launchers, that there should be a option to allow me to click the X to fully close the launcher instead of minimizing to the system tray.

 

If you want to play at all, you need the gamecenter installed and must update the game using that. However, as per the highlighted section of Doc's post, you only need to run the gamecenter when your game is out of sync with the server. Once it says you are updated, close it in the system tray and use the exe to launch. I've been doing this for a very long time with the old launcher as well. It's really not a different concept from the old launcher, it merely makes it more convenient to update all of your wargaming titles with a single launcher rather than having 3.

 

Hope to see you in the skies (even if you're wearing a tinfoil hat) :D


 

'Customize Your Carousel' thread - LINK

Custom skins for I-16(L), LBSh, & IL-20 - LINK
 


Deltavee #43 Posted 14 May 2017 - 06:16 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 87 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    12-19-2015

View Postpyantoryng, on 10 May 2017 - 04:22 PM, said:

^ You can always launch the game(s) from executable...just not update.

 

Change the install directory for WGC as it apparently defaults to a hidden folder (ProgramData).

 

Use WGC only for update (of course, check out that little gear icon to the left out and turn off run on startup, turn off all the automatic update options and if you care, disable uploading) and run game from executable and you should be fine. Kill the launcher in the taskbar's tray after you are done with updating and consider rebooting after you are done (at least until WGC addresses the random pinging for download issue, which I doubt it'll be for some time). The client will tell you whether you need to update upon attempting to log in.

 

 

 

Thank you very much, pyantoryng for your help.  It all worked just as you suggested.

Cheers



Deltavee #44 Posted 14 May 2017 - 06:25 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 87 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    12-19-2015

View PostGhostPrime, on 10 May 2017 - 04:49 PM, said:

 

Hi! You will need to have the WGC installed to do updates. All game updates are installed through the game launcher. The default setting is automatic updates in the WGC launcher, but you are able to change that setting if you wish to. Feel free to PM me if you need any help. 

 

GhostPrime, thanks for the offer of help.  I was able to resolve it all finally without having to PM you but I really do appreciate the offer. 

The rant was really about having something rammed down my throat, namely the WGC.  Obviously that kind of thing gets under my skin.

Cheers,

Deltavee



Deltavee #45 Posted 14 May 2017 - 06:29 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 87 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    12-19-2015

View PostGouIdy, on 10 May 2017 - 04:21 PM, said:

 

Most of your arguments are invalid, you can disable automatic startup/updates & uploads in the settings for the game center.

If you are really anal you can add a desktop shortcut to the WOWP exe. file & run the game bypassing the game center.

 

That wasn't a wall of rage, trust me.

GhostPrime #46 Posted 15 May 2017 - 03:51 PM

    Community Coordinator

  • Administrator
  • 1455 battles
  • 1,621
  • [WGA-B] WGA-B
  • Member since:
    04-22-2013

View PostDeltavee, on 14 May 2017 - 10:25 AM, said:

 

GhostPrime, thanks for the offer of help.  I was able to resolve it all finally without having to PM you but I really do appreciate the offer. 

The rant was really about having something rammed down my throat, namely the WGC.  Obviously that kind of thing gets under my skin.

Cheers,

Deltavee

 

I'm glad you were able to get it working. The offer still stands, if you ever need any help, let me know. 

 



Please read the WOWP Game and Forum rules.
Forum Rules - Game Rules - EULA - TOS
Find us on Facebook!





4 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 4 guests, 0 anonymous users