Jump to content


"game center" now mandatory


  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

DrSinister #41 Posted 11 May 2017 - 01:54 AM

    High-Tech Medic

  • -Community Ace-
  • 4850 battles
  • 3,944
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

Yeah, I have been using the new Launcher for a couple months now (was part of the CPT, when I got it).  It merged my WoT, WoWp, and WoWs games with no issue.

 

I have my Unified Launcher to not auto update, but to notify me when there is an update and I choose if I want to update or not.  Also when I am done with playing a WG game, I also go to the system tray and right click and close the Launcher so that it is not using up any resources.  I can also close it while I am in game, or just like others have suggested only use the Launcher to update the games and use a shortcut for the .exe to launch the game.

 

Only suggestion I have is that, like other launchers, that there should be a option to allow me to click the X to fully close the launcher instead of minimizing to the system tray.



Zapperguy #42 Posted 11 May 2017 - 12:04 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • -Community Ace-
  • 33064 battles
  • 2,391
  • [CLOWN] CLOWN
  • Member since:
    04-04-2012

View PostDrSinister, on 10 May 2017 - 09:54 PM, said:

Yeah, I have been using the new Launcher for a couple months now (was part of the CPT, when I got it).  It merged my WoT, WoWp, and WoWs games with no issue.

 

I have my Unified Launcher to not auto update, but to notify me when there is an update and I choose if I want to update or not.  Also when I am done with playing a WG game, I also go to the system tray and right click and close the Launcher so that it is not using up any resources.  I can also close it while I am in game, or just like others have suggested only use the Launcher to update the games and use a shortcut for the .exe to launch the game.

 

Only suggestion I have is that, like other launchers, that there should be a option to allow me to click the X to fully close the launcher instead of minimizing to the system tray.

 

If you want to play at all, you need the gamecenter installed and must update the game using that. However, as per the highlighted section of Doc's post, you only need to run the gamecenter when your game is out of sync with the server. Once it says you are updated, close it in the system tray and use the exe to launch. I've been doing this for a very long time with the old launcher as well. It's really not a different concept from the old launcher, it merely makes it more convenient to update all of your wargaming titles with a single launcher rather than having 3.

 

Hope to see you in the skies (even if you're wearing a tinfoil hat) :D


 

'Customize Your Carousel' thread - LINK

Custom skins for I-16(L), LBSh, & IL-20 - LINK
 


Deltavee #43 Posted 14 May 2017 - 06:16 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 88 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    12-19-2015

View Postpyantoryng, on 10 May 2017 - 04:22 PM, said:

^ You can always launch the game(s) from executable...just not update.

 

Change the install directory for WGC as it apparently defaults to a hidden folder (ProgramData).

 

Use WGC only for update (of course, check out that little gear icon to the left out and turn off run on startup, turn off all the automatic update options and if you care, disable uploading) and run game from executable and you should be fine. Kill the launcher in the taskbar's tray after you are done with updating and consider rebooting after you are done (at least until WGC addresses the random pinging for download issue, which I doubt it'll be for some time). The client will tell you whether you need to update upon attempting to log in.

 

 

 

Thank you very much, pyantoryng for your help.  It all worked just as you suggested.

Cheers



Deltavee #44 Posted 14 May 2017 - 06:25 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 88 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    12-19-2015

View PostGhostPrime, on 10 May 2017 - 04:49 PM, said:

 

Hi! You will need to have the WGC installed to do updates. All game updates are installed through the game launcher. The default setting is automatic updates in the WGC launcher, but you are able to change that setting if you wish to. Feel free to PM me if you need any help. 

 

GhostPrime, thanks for the offer of help.  I was able to resolve it all finally without having to PM you but I really do appreciate the offer. 

The rant was really about having something rammed down my throat, namely the WGC.  Obviously that kind of thing gets under my skin.

Cheers,

Deltavee



Deltavee #45 Posted 14 May 2017 - 06:29 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 88 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    12-19-2015

View PostGouIdy, on 10 May 2017 - 04:21 PM, said:

 

Most of your arguments are invalid, you can disable automatic startup/updates & uploads in the settings for the game center.

If you are really anal you can add a desktop shortcut to the WOWP exe. file & run the game bypassing the game center.

 

That wasn't a wall of rage, trust me.

GhostPrime #46 Posted 15 May 2017 - 03:51 PM

    Community Coordinator

  • Administrator
  • 1545 battles
  • 1,858
  • [WGA-B] WGA-B
  • Member since:
    04-22-2013

View PostDeltavee, on 14 May 2017 - 10:25 AM, said:

 

GhostPrime, thanks for the offer of help.  I was able to resolve it all finally without having to PM you but I really do appreciate the offer. 

The rant was really about having something rammed down my throat, namely the WGC.  Obviously that kind of thing gets under my skin.

Cheers,

Deltavee

 

I'm glad you were able to get it working. The offer still stands, if you ever need any help, let me know. 

 



Please read the WOWP Game and Forum rules.
Forum Rules - Game Rules - EULA - TOS
Find us on Facebook!


trakboss #47 Posted 17 June 2017 - 07:07 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 264 battles
  • 1
  • [MSOB] MSOB
  • Member since:
    05-28-2015
its unfortunate that WG will be losing money because I cannot play warplanes without installing the game center which I am not going to install

Zapperguy #48 Posted 17 June 2017 - 08:04 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • -Community Ace-
  • 33064 battles
  • 2,391
  • [CLOWN] CLOWN
  • Member since:
    04-04-2012

View Posttrakboss, on 17 June 2017 - 03:07 PM, said:

its unfortunate that WG will be losing money because I cannot play warplanes without installing the game center which I am not going to install

 

WoWP like all WG titles has always had a launcher. The game center is simply an updated version of said launcher. What exactly is the issue?


 

'Customize Your Carousel' thread - LINK

Custom skins for I-16(L), LBSh, & IL-20 - LINK
 


Psicko23 #49 Posted 17 June 2017 - 10:19 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 18606 battles
  • 2,580
  • [-WS-] -WS-
  • Member since:
    02-04-2014

View Posttrakboss, on 17 June 2017 - 11:07 AM, said:

its unfortunate that WG will be losing money because I cannot play warplanes without installing the game center which I am not going to install

 

now I'm wondering how much money they will be losing because you wont play anymore.

PhilKnox #50 Posted 29 June 2017 - 09:54 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 10801 battles
  • 107
  • [-WS-] -WS-
  • Member since:
    05-14-2012
The problem with the Game Center is not the launcher.  I have no problem with the theory of using one.  My problem is the constant Unable to connect to internet message that I receive.  My problem is that I was running one of Zapperguy's mod for the old Hryunomod.  (NOT blaming Zapperguy here, it was working a few weeks, but I could have done something wrong)  I got the message that my game was corrupt, and did the game integrity check through the launcher.  It kept stopping the integrity check and giving me the unable to connect message. Ok So I checked the connection, again, did I a pc restart.  it started working for a bit then stopped again same message.  There is nothing wrong with the internet, and the Wargaming Center is a Firewall exception.  I tried turning off the Firewall just in case that may have been the problem.  Still didn't work.  I uninstalled the game manually, and did receive the message through the launcher that it uninstalled.  Tried loading the game, and got the same message.  Unable to connect.  I don't mind using the launcher, if it works properly.  The problem is that it does not work properly, at least for me.

PhilKnox #51 Posted 29 June 2017 - 10:13 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 10801 battles
  • 107
  • [-WS-] -WS-
  • Member since:
    05-14-2012
As far as my internet. I have Comcast, the fastest in my area. I live in the sticks,  I have Comast, DSL or dial up as the only choices.  My internet is generally pretty fast, and I have done speed tests and it is fine.  The only problem I am having is worth Wargaming.  My kids play on the internet all of the time without issue.

pyantoryng #52 Posted 30 June 2017 - 02:26 AM

    Major

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 12044 battles
  • 5,933
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

Seems like Game Center can put internet connection out of commission after long sessions...I left it overnight to install WoWS, and six hours later the connection went kaputt and requiring reboot to be able to connect again.

 

...and download speed tend to be really slow...apparently because nobody wants to use/allow upload...



WoWP makes a great jousting game...especially with the 262 and people busy in furballs...
I am deaf, silent, and fly with unrealistic controls. Do not count on me to carry - my back's already broken from overweight.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users