Avro Canada CF-105 Arrow Skin WIP

• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

MARS_REVENANT #1 Posted 21 February 2017 - 04:10 AM

Major

• 32919 battles
  • [SICK] SICK

With all the great skins coming out from hawkeyededic and Foxtrot1 (Peter205), I thought I would give it a try, it is something I have always wanted to do, but never got around to it.  This is the start as I have never tried it before, but this will not be a historically accurate skin, just something fun to throw together.  An Avro Arrow skin applied to the Javelin.

I'll post some shots as I progress... any tips from the masters is greatly appreciated.

First shot is really just testing if it even works, and changing the hangar skin to the base white.  A lot of parts left to convert still.... but here is a snow-white Javelin.

This is what I'll be using as my guide.

Edited by MARS_REVENANT, 21 February 2017 - 04:13 AM.

I never lose; either I win or I learn.

Peter205 #2 Posted 21 February 2017 - 11:16 AM

Master Sergeant

• 6 battles

Excellent work, mate!

Remember the connections between parts of the aircraft.

They sometimes may be tricky and hard to connect.

Also, try to make some Spit I or V skins first.

They're DDS files are easier to work on since they haven't much upgrades.

Keep up the great work.

Best Regards,

Foxtrox1. :honoring:

hawkeyededic #3 Posted 21 February 2017 - 02:07 PM

Resident Researcher

• -Community Ace-
  • 3270 battles

You just took the hardest step imo, getting up enough nerve to try. If you have any questions feel free to ask, always happy to help.

The Javelin should be really easy to work with for a first skin as it has no upgrades at all.

Hawkeye's Hangar, your one stop spot for all my repaints. Like me on Facebook for news, updates and more.

MARS_REVENANT #4 Posted 21 February 2017 - 04:59 PM

Major

• 32919 battles
  • [SICK] SICK

View PostPeter205, on 21 February 2017 - 06:16 AM, said:

Excellent work, mate!