Jump to content


How Does Your Connection Measure Up?

Speed Test

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

Zapperguy #1 Posted 15 November 2016 - 02:30 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • -Community Ace-
  • 31401 battles
  • 2,112
  • [CLOWN] CLOWN
  • Member since:
    04-04-2012

I was wondering what type of connections most of you have. I have cable. Below is my test score and a link to the test site which WG doesn't seem to like.

 

http://tinyurl.com/gqokd


 

'Customize Your Carousel' thread - LINK

Custom skins for I-16(L), LBSh, & IL-20 - LINK
 


OmniWG #2 Posted 15 November 2016 - 02:46 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 8274 battles
  • 6
  • [JACS] JACS
  • Member since:
    03-19-2014

all I can say is wow

according to that site my ping is 69, upload 0.60, download 7.63

playing WOWP my ping is never below 300. I suppose playing from the other side of the world to the US is not going to help

 

 

 



J311yfish #3 Posted 15 November 2016 - 02:47 PM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 17149 battles
  • 955
  • [343] 343
  • Member since:
    12-13-2013

Tech tree projects:  JAPAN  /  United Kingdom  /  Sweden  /  Finland (skins/  Italy  /  France  /  Poland  /  China  /  Brazil  /  United States  //  Roadmap

Map proposals:  Panama Canal  /  Great Wall of China  /  Cliffs of Dover  //  Clan:  343 Kokutai  //  Tutorial How to ignore forum posts and signatures


Zapperguy #4 Posted 15 November 2016 - 02:49 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • -Community Ace-
  • 31401 battles
  • 2,112
  • [CLOWN] CLOWN
  • Member since:
    04-04-2012

View PostJ311yfish, on 15 November 2016 - 09:47 AM, said:

 

Screaming fast. Fios?

 

'Customize Your Carousel' thread - LINK

Custom skins for I-16(L), LBSh, & IL-20 - LINK
 


MARS_REVENANT #5 Posted 15 November 2016 - 03:13 PM

    Major

  • Member
  • 30554 battles
  • 5,790
  • [SICK] SICK
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

What I pay for:  16MB Down 1 MB Up

What I get: 10MB Down 0.75MB Up

 

Game ping is about 60 on average, I don't see any packet loss and I don't think it is affecting my game play.  When my wife uploads a picture to Pinterest or whateverthehellitis my ping jumps to about 3000... still no packet loss though.

 

I have found the upload speed to be the most important, I have downloaded movies during game play and been totally unaffected.


I never lose; either I win or I learn.


Psicko23 #6 Posted 15 November 2016 - 04:27 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 18508 battles
  • 2,189
  • [-WS-] -WS-
  • Member since:
    02-04-2014

View PostOmniWG, on 15 November 2016 - 06:46 AM, said:

all I can say is wow

according to that site my ping is 69, upload 0.60, download 7.63

playing WOWP my ping is never below 300. I suppose playing from the other side of the world to the US is not going to help

 

 

 

 

that ping info is the ping to the ookla server you connected to, not the ping on wowp. my ping in wowp is usually 100-130ish, 90's on a good day, and 150's on a bad day. 

 

I pay for 40mb download and 10 upload. on ethernet connection I get 28-35mb download and about 5mb upload. On wifi, it goes to crap even 2 feet from my modem router. I get a best of 5mb download and 1mb upload. gotta love dsl. I can't wait to move out of my apartment complex. 


Edited by Psicko23, 15 November 2016 - 04:40 PM.


Claudio67 #7 Posted 15 November 2016 - 05:32 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Open Beta Tester
  • 15113 battles
  • 1,458
  • Member since:
    08-03-2013

I don't know how to set the WG servers on Speedtest, I choose those available on the cities of WoT servers (no info on WoWp, but they must be the same, I suppose)

To East Coast (San Jose, CA) (This looks to be the one, the ping fits more on what I get in game):

 

West Coast (Washington DC):


Edited by Claudio67, 15 November 2016 - 05:33 PM.


Zapperguy #8 Posted 15 November 2016 - 07:53 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • -Community Ace-
  • 31401 battles
  • 2,112
  • [CLOWN] CLOWN
  • Member since:
    04-04-2012

View PostClaudio67, on 15 November 2016 - 12:32 PM, said:

I don't know how to set the WG servers on Speedtest, I choose those available on the cities of WoT servers (no info on WoWp, but they must be the same, I suppose)

To East Coast (San Jose, CA) (This looks to be the one, the ping fits more on what I get in game):

 

West Coast (Washington DC):

 

Good point about trying the DC server; here's mine. I also did a ping test (no Java Script installed so packet loss was not measured).

 

 


 

'Customize Your Carousel' thread - LINK

Custom skins for I-16(L), LBSh, & IL-20 - LINK
 


GUNDY_ #9 Posted 15 November 2016 - 08:37 PM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 9225 battles
  • 562
  • [SICK] SICK
  • Member since:
    11-25-2012

Sometimes I get 95 down.

 

I know a lagger (and non-NA) when I see one! :izmena:


Edited by GUNDY_, 15 November 2016 - 08:40 PM.

BRING BACK 1.1!


Billy_Burns_91 #10 Posted 15 November 2016 - 10:38 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 1252 battles
  • 11
  • [SOL] SOL
  • Member since:
    12-08-2015

/facepalm; Sometimes ignorance is bliss....

 

5801234590.png



losttwo #11 Posted 15 November 2016 - 10:43 PM

    which way do we go?

  • Community Ace
  • 29924 battles
  • 12,367
  • [S-S-G] S-S-G
  • Member since:
    05-15-2012
My wife has no complaints about my old and slow ways.

PhoinexFire #12 Posted 15 November 2016 - 11:21 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 8492 battles
  • 237
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    12-05-2013

 

;D



PhantomStar_ #13 Posted 16 November 2016 - 02:10 AM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 1428 battles
  • 107
  • [-WS-] -WS-
  • Member since:
    11-23-2015

part of the reason I play WOWS now, lol.


 

 


Psicko23 #14 Posted 16 November 2016 - 02:55 AM

    First Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 18508 battles
  • 2,189
  • [-WS-] -WS-
  • Member since:
    02-04-2014

View PostClaudio67, on 15 November 2016 - 09:32 AM, said:

I don't know how to set the WG servers on Speedtest, I choose those available on the cities.

 

you can't set wg's server or any server other than the ookla hosted servers to ooklah. if you know where Warplanes server is, you can set the ookla server to that city. that is the closest you can do with any speed test.

 

San Jose is on the west coast and Washington DC is on the east coast. just a heads up. 



Psicko23 #15 Posted 16 November 2016 - 02:58 AM

    First Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 18508 battles
  • 2,189
  • [-WS-] -WS-
  • Member since:
    02-04-2014

The wowp server is located in Washington DC according to this page:http://wiki.wargamin...en/WoWP_Servers

 

However, it looks like it has other out dated info. 



DInk_Spinkley #16 Posted 16 November 2016 - 07:16 AM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 10876 battles
  • 566
  • [-BFS-] -BFS-
  • Member since:
    03-09-2015

game packets are pretty small, so it doesn't really matter.

Ping is a function of distance and is not dependent on bandwidth.

What the heck did they teach you kids in computer class anyway?

 

my ping in game is around 30.


My wife said if I can make money playing video games, she'd leave me alone, so....




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users