Jump to content


Overwolf Screen Recording

recording

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

Erich_Hartmann19522 #1 Posted 24 August 2016 - 09:42 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 395 battles
  • 21
  • Member since:
    08-01-2016

Hello forums!

 

I recently checked out the Rocket contest forums and found a recommendation to use Overwolf to capture battle replays.  But the software seems really unstable.  The longest clip I was able to get out of it was about 15 seconds, out what I KNOW to be a five minute recording session.  The clip also has a ridiculous frame rate problem, something like 0.5 fps.

 

Clip is saved on my Google Drive, if anyone wants to check it out and see if they can identify the problem.

 

-Edit:  I was going to remove the audio track for the final version in Movie Maker and put some music on it, but I never got that far because of this stupid bug.  You can hear my dad talking on the phone in the background.

 

https://drive.google...iew?usp=sharing

 

-Erich_Hartmann19522


Edited by Erich_Hartmann19522, 24 August 2016 - 09:45 PM.


Porkins_Jr #2 Posted 24 August 2016 - 09:49 PM

    Major

  • Member
  • 14401 battles
  • 5,274
  • [BAGG] BAGG
  • Member since:
    12-10-2013
I tried Overwolf exactly once, then I trashed it and got Bandicam.

losttwo #3 Posted 24 August 2016 - 09:51 PM

    which way do we go?

  • Community Ace
  • 29924 battles
  • 12,367
  • [S-S-G] S-S-G
  • Member since:
    05-15-2012

use bandicam unless you have windows 10.

Then there is a screen recording system in the XBOX set up.



Erich_Hartmann19522 #4 Posted 24 August 2016 - 10:11 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 395 battles
  • 21
  • Member since:
    08-01-2016

Hey, thanks Porkins!  Bandicam captured the whole video......sort of.  The recording runs for the entirety of the battle, but Bandicam seems to be recording my desktop instead of the replay.  Naturally, since the replay goes over the whole screen, the 5-minute recording session is just a black screen.  I can still hear the audio that it was capturing, but the screen recording window seemed to be "behind" the battle replay.  This is particularly frustrating since i checked the option for "always in front".



Porkins_Jr #5 Posted 25 August 2016 - 01:39 AM

    Major

  • Member
  • 14401 battles
  • 5,274
  • [BAGG] BAGG
  • Member since:
    12-10-2013

View PostErich_Hartmann19522, on 24 August 2016 - 06:11 PM, said:

Hey, thanks Porkins!  Bandicam captured the whole video......sort of.  The recording runs for the entirety of the battle, but Bandicam seems to be recording my desktop instead of the replay.  Naturally, since the replay goes over the whole screen, the 5-minute recording session is just a black screen.  I can still hear the audio that it was capturing, but the screen recording window seemed to be "behind" the battle replay.  This is particularly frustrating since i checked the option for "always in front".

 

Hmmm...switch WoWP to "Windowed mode" and then hit record on Bandicam. It will say "click recording window" and then you click the WoWP window and everything should be aces. Make sure your volume is up.


Edited by Porkins_Jr, 25 August 2016 - 01:40 AM.


DrSinister #6 Posted 25 August 2016 - 01:56 AM

    High-Tech Medic

  • Closed Public Test
  • 4663 battles
  • 3,896
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

I use OBS, this is used typically for streaming but you can set it up to save to local hard drive instead of stream.



Erich_Hartmann19522 #7 Posted 25 August 2016 - 03:40 AM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 395 battles
  • 21
  • Member since:
    08-01-2016

Hey, thanks guys!  Got the issue figured out.  If you'd like to see the video, here it is.  Hope you at least like the music, since I'm neither a skilled pilot nor a decent marksman.

 

Edit:  Sorry about the weird recommended videos.  I dont' know what's wrong with it.

 

 


Edited by Erich_Hartmann19522, 25 August 2016 - 03:42 AM.


Bobby_Tables #8 Posted 25 August 2016 - 04:11 AM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 22263 battles
  • 450
  • [WHAWK] WHAWK
  • Member since:
    06-16-2014

If you have an NVIDIA video card, you can also use the NVIDIA GeForce Experience software to record video either in real-time during your battles or from the replays.  From what I have seen on my system, it is not too resource intensive. 

 

I am not sure, but I suspect AMD has a similar solution.



Ace_BOTlistic_Cosmo #9 Posted 25 August 2016 - 05:52 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 19580 battles
  • 1,416
  • [WHAWK] WHAWK
  • Member since:
    01-26-2014

That video made me carsick... you fly like a angry hornet on Red Bull® Shooters...

you're going to be a very good pilot in the future

:great:


if the pilot's good, see, I mean, if he's really..sharp, he can barrel that baby in so low [he spreads his arms like wings and laughs],

you oughtta see it sometime, it's a sight. A big plane like a '52. VRROOM! There's jet exhaust, fryin' chickens in the barnyard.


Erich_Hartmann19522 #10 Posted 25 August 2016 - 09:10 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 395 battles
  • 21
  • Member since:
    08-01-2016

View PostAce_BOTlistic_Cosmo, on 25 August 2016 - 05:52 PM, said:

That video made me carsick... you fly like a angry hornet on Red Bull® Shooters...

 

The replay was recorded at 2x speed.  With an I-5, it's no wonder that you'd be feeling a bit queasy.

DrSinister #11 Posted 25 August 2016 - 09:20 PM

    High-Tech Medic

  • Closed Public Test
  • 4663 battles
  • 3,896
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
No 720p or 1080p upload? Makes viewing full screen very blurry and pixelated.

Erich_Hartmann19522 #12 Posted 26 August 2016 - 04:28 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 395 battles
  • 21
  • Member since:
    08-01-2016

View PostDrSinister, on 25 August 2016 - 09:20 PM, said:

No 720p or 1080p upload?

I'll see if I can figure out how to do that for my next upload.



DrSinister #13 Posted 26 August 2016 - 09:02 PM

    High-Tech Medic

  • Closed Public Test
  • 4663 battles
  • 3,896
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostErich_Hartmann19522, on 26 August 2016 - 11:28 AM, said:

I'll see if I can figure out how to do that for my next upload.

 

iirc its an option when you upload to YouTube.





Also tagged with recording

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users