Jump to content


can't aim with low fps


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

anarky321 #1 Posted 21 August 2016 - 01:47 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 1654 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    03-12-2015

im not sure why this is even a problem with only 400 people online but the fps has gotten noticeably worse since i started playing several months ago, i can see from OSD stats that neither my CPU or GPU are maxed out so its a server-side problem, my ping is also fine

 

aiming at 30fps is unplayable for me



Psicko23 #2 Posted 21 August 2016 - 02:19 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 18508 battles
  • 2,189
  • [-WS-] -WS-
  • Member since:
    02-04-2014

This game lacks optimization. Also I think bots take more resources than humans do. Not sure if that would cause less fps. I built my machine a little more than a year ago. I was getting around 200 fps on max settings. Now on the same settings in getting around 60. Before I built my computer I was using a laptop with integrated graphics. I started about 45 fps then dropped to 15 fps over multiple patches. 

   Try running razer cortex game booster to help maximize fps. Also what specs does your computer have? 



losttwo #3 Posted 21 August 2016 - 02:21 PM

    which way do we go?

  • Community Ace
  • 29924 battles
  • 12,367
  • [S-S-G] S-S-G
  • Member since:
    05-15-2012

30 FPS...you are lucky.

Turn your lead indicator off and start following your tracers.

I can still get an ACE at 12 FPS with a no skilled pilot.

 

And yeah, I run Razor Cortex and turn off all the background programs off including windows explorer.

It is the only way i can push past 30 FPS on some maps.

 

Jump on You Tube and you can see some of my LOW  FPS struggle wins.


Edited by losttwo, 21 August 2016 - 02:24 PM.


Snoticus #4 Posted 21 August 2016 - 03:20 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 2027 battles
  • 1,224
  • [SF] SF
  • Member since:
    02-08-2014

View Postanarky321, on 21 August 2016 - 08:47 AM, said:

im not sure why this is even a problem with only 400 people online but the fps has gotten noticeably worse since i started playing several months ago, i can see from OSD stats that neither my CPU or GPU are maxed out so its a server-side problem, my ping is also fine

 

aiming at 30fps is unplayable for me

 

i play on 18fps and 70 ping...check out public replays forum...you have to compensate for reticle drift...aim slightly over or just under what you shoot at.
tlhIngan maH! Heghlu'meH QaQ jajvam!

Rosebud #5 Posted 21 August 2016 - 04:25 PM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 11457 battles
  • 977
  • [SICK] SICK
  • Member since:
    12-27-2011
When I started playing WoT my computer was out of date...I played for a year at 4-6 FPS. It was like playing on a slide projector.


 


mnbv_fockewulfe #6 Posted 21 August 2016 - 06:10 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 4209 battles
  • 1,043
  • [JACS] JACS
  • Member since:
    12-06-2013

20 fps is the bare minimal to play the game T5 and above. 30 fps is just enough to play smoothly. Anything above 60 fps and you gain nothing. 


Dat nose

knows does doe

mnbv_fockewulfe.png


 


Snoticus #7 Posted 21 August 2016 - 06:23 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 2027 battles
  • 1,224
  • [SF] SF
  • Member since:
    02-08-2014

View Postmnbv_fockewulfe, on 21 August 2016 - 01:10 PM, said:

20 fps is the bare minimal to play the game T5 and above. 30 fps is just enough to play smoothly. Anything above 60 fps and you gain nothing. 

 

you should see my replays....fps is waaaay lower than that...and ping is waaaaay higher than that. i manage to do ...somewhat ok
tlhIngan maH! Heghlu'meH QaQ jajvam!

losttwo #8 Posted 21 August 2016 - 06:26 PM

    which way do we go?

  • Community Ace
  • 29924 battles
  • 12,367
  • [S-S-G] S-S-G
  • Member since:
    05-15-2012

I think another problem you are having is shooting to soon.

Look at the range of the guns and fire only when you are in range and leading the target.



Omega_Weapon #9 Posted 21 August 2016 - 08:32 PM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 9590 battles
  • 522
  • [GRIEF] GRIEF
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
My FPS usually vary between 30 to 60, but sometimes drop to 20. FPS does not seem to affect my shooting much though. I find ping to be more problematic. When ping is around 30 to 40ms, I usually score 30% accuracy with my guns. When it jumps to 70 - 80ms (which happens often with bigger battles) my accuracy drops into the 5 - 10% neighborhood. If I go back and watch those replays I can always see the aiming circle where my bullets fire lags behind the actual aiming point of my aircraft's nose by a significant amount. It looks like I'm aiming dead on in game, but replay shows my bullets going where my nose was pointing 2 seconds ago.

Chuck_norris10 #10 Posted 21 August 2016 - 08:55 PM

    Captain

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 20026 battles
  • 4,688
  • [300SP] 300SP
  • Member since:
    03-02-2013

View PostOmega_Weapon, on 21 August 2016 - 01:32 PM, said:

My FPS usually vary between 30 to 60, but sometimes drop to 20. FPS does not seem to affect my shooting much though. I find ping to be more problematic. When ping is around 30 to 40ms, I usually score 30% accuracy with my guns. When it jumps to 70 - 80ms (which happens often with bigger battles) my accuracy drops into the 5 - 10% neighborhood. If I go back and watch those replays I can always see the aiming circle where my bullets fire lags behind the actual aiming point of my aircraft's nose by a significant amount. It looks like I'm aiming dead on in game, but replay shows my bullets going where my nose was pointing 2 seconds ago.

 

BINGO!!!!!!  

I was wondering for months why the reticule looks steady while flying but on a replay you can actually see it moving around.

I was at 30 ping untill the one bad update awhile back(forget which one) and now I am at a constant 90 ping.I have tweaked and retweaked settings in my joystick trying to fix this to no avail and it's really evident on my ju88 where the shots have to be dead on.

I even upgraded to a higher internet speed and the ping is still high.

I'm so glad to see I'm not the only one with this problem as I was ready to reinstall the game in an attempt to fix this but it looks like it's a WG server side issue.

I play on an Asus z87-k with intel7,a 1 tb black hard drive and GEFORCE 660 so it's not like my pc is underpowered.

 

In the meantime I will take lostwo's suggestion to start flying with no reticule or lead indicator.

 

 

 

 


 


 

losttwo #11 Posted 21 August 2016 - 09:56 PM

    which way do we go?

  • Community Ace
  • 29924 battles
  • 12,367
  • [S-S-G] S-S-G
  • Member since:
    05-15-2012
You are not suppose to aim with FPS, you should be using the aiming circle to spray and pray.

Chuck_norris10 #12 Posted 21 August 2016 - 10:02 PM

    Captain

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 20026 battles
  • 4,688
  • [300SP] 300SP
  • Member since:
    03-02-2013

View Postlosttwo, on 21 August 2016 - 02:56 PM, said:

You are not suppose to aim with FPS, you should be using the aiming circle to spray and pray.

 

No spray in the ju88,you get one shot every couple of seconds and the ones that are dead center in the reticule will take 300hp damage 1 out of four shots.

I even take my hand off the joystick before firing once locked,in case of a twitch.

The ping is causing the pause. it was 30 for years for me till an update.

 


Edited by Chuck_norris10, 21 August 2016 - 10:04 PM.

 


 




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users