Jump to content


Low FPS - everything up to date

FPS lag FPS lag

  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

YOUgoBOOM_2 #1 Posted 27 July 2016 - 08:30 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 827 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    02-15-2016

Hi there,

I've been playing this for months on my 32bit laptop, and it ran great ... 30+ FPS triple digit ping usually.

The laptop has integrated graphics even.

 

I've recently set up my desktop ... which has much better hardware and an Nvidia graphics card, as well am running directly connected cable connection that is consistently 60mbps on avg.

 

I updated my graphics card driver, updated DirectX and when I fired up WoW, in settings did the automatic settings in graphics and it said "good to go".

 

In game, as you can see in the screenshots I took, all is not good to go with FPS around 15.

 

Any input is greatly appreciated ... as this is driving me nuts, and cannot figure how a 32bit system on wi-fi runs this better than a 64bit system hard-wired.

Thanks

 

shot_001.jpg

shot_002.jpg

Win7.JPG



losttwo #2 Posted 27 July 2016 - 08:36 PM

    which way do we go?

  • Community Ace
  • 29924 battles
  • 12,609
  • [S-S-G] S-S-G
  • Member since:
    05-15-2012
What background applications and or programs are running at the same time.

YOUgoBOOM_2 #3 Posted 27 July 2016 - 08:38 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 827 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    02-15-2016

None, not even a browser ... come to think of it anti-virus was on, but that was on my laptop as well.

Was a fresh restart too after installing DirectX



losttwo #4 Posted 27 July 2016 - 08:43 PM

    which way do we go?

  • Community Ace
  • 29924 battles
  • 12,609
  • [S-S-G] S-S-G
  • Member since:
    05-15-2012

Did you make a rule exception in the anti- virus ? check 1        ___Yes       ____ No

Clear the WOWP temp folder.

 

anything beyond that is above my pay grade


Edited by losttwo, 27 July 2016 - 08:44 PM.


YOUgoBOOM_2 #5 Posted 27 July 2016 - 08:45 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 827 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    02-15-2016

View Postlosttwo, on 27 July 2016 - 02:43 PM, said:

Did you make a rule exception in the anti- virus ? check 1        ___Yes       __X_ No

I run Avast.  Not sure how to add exceptions ... could just try the game after exiting Avast and see I guess.

Thoughts?  (thanks for the replies!)


Edited by YOUgoBOOM_2, 27 July 2016 - 08:51 PM.


Ace_BOTlistic_Cosmo #6 Posted 27 July 2016 - 08:52 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 20753 battles
  • 1,791
  • [3NIC] 3NIC
  • Member since:
    01-26-2014
nice hat

if the pilot's good, see, I mean, if he's really..sharp, he can barrel that baby in so low [he spreads his arms like wings and laughs],

you oughtta see it sometime, it's a sight. A big plane like a '52. VRROOM! There's jet exhaust, fryin' chickens in the barnyard.


YOUgoBOOM_2 #7 Posted 27 July 2016 - 08:55 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 827 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    02-15-2016

View PostAce_BOTlistic_Cosmo, on 27 July 2016 - 02:52 PM, said:

nice hat

 

lol thanks.  MilSpec survival hat :angry:

YOUgoBOOM_2 #8 Posted 27 July 2016 - 09:31 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 827 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    02-15-2016
Disabled Avast and gave it a run.  Once battle starts FPS goes from 28fps down to 12.  *shrug*

Psicko23 #9 Posted 27 July 2016 - 09:34 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 19607 battles
  • 2,646
  • [-WS-] -WS-
  • Member since:
    02-04-2014

Yougoboom2- a few stupid questions, but I want to make sure. 

Is your monitor cable plugged into your graphics card or mobo? Also is your computer running the integrated graphics or the graphics card? 

  



YOUgoBOOM_2 #10 Posted 27 July 2016 - 09:36 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 827 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    02-15-2016

Plugged into the graphics card, using the graphics card.

I can play Steam>Source games just great ...

 

Thanks



Psicko23 #11 Posted 27 July 2016 - 09:40 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 19607 battles
  • 2,646
  • [-WS-] -WS-
  • Member since:
    02-04-2014

Ok just checking. When I first set up my computer I had the integrated graphics on and not my card. Big difference between integrated graphics and a gtx970.

 

What are your computer specs? 



YOUgoBOOM_2 #12 Posted 27 July 2016 - 10:12 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 827 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    02-15-2016

I added a photo above of what's running.

Graphics card is an Nvidia GeForce 8400 GS



x_WARHOG_x #13 Posted 28 July 2016 - 12:16 AM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 29911 battles
  • 627
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    12-07-2013

Id say your computer is just to old the processor was released in 08 the graphics card is probably just as old had the same problem with my old computer started playing with no problem but with most everything set to low then after every update it got a little worse till it got to the point I was getting 8-10 FPS and had to build a new computer, yours while probably a little newer than my old computer has probably hit the point mine did.

 

 

  

Edit..

 here is the old graphics card I ran-http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-9400-gt/specifications

 and here is your-http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-8400-gs/specifications


 

Compared my old card which Id say is outdated but its still better than the one you have.


Edited by x_WARHOG_x, 28 July 2016 - 12:39 AM.

Sneaking up on your six.....................


Sojo #14 Posted 28 July 2016 - 01:29 AM

    First Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 23160 battles
  • 2,871
  • [3NIC] 3NIC
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

Your card is below the minimum system requirements:

http://worldofwarpla.../game/download/

 

That's an entry level card that was already 6 years old when this game was released in 2013.  It's amazing that it still runs at all.

 

Sorry.  :(



YOUgoBOOM_2 #15 Posted 28 July 2016 - 02:34 AM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 827 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    02-15-2016

I'll need to get my laptop specs and post it on this thread.  The specs for my laptop are lower than my desktop all the way around with integrated graphics, and I get great fps outta that computer I bought in 2012.  It won't even play steam games at all.

Here is my laptop specs;  https://www.asus.com...ecifications/   (forgot it does have a graphics card, but ... does not run steam games ... I keep comparing it to steam because steam is so picky and media rich)

 

Is this a game geared more for 32bit....?  Wouldn't make any sense.

 

Again, I run day of defeat and counter-strike steam games on this desktop and get great rates and positive ratios regularly.

 

hmmmm

 

Thanks for the posts folks, I really do appreciate it. :)


Edited by YOUgoBOOM_2, 28 July 2016 - 02:39 AM.


Sojo #16 Posted 28 July 2016 - 02:49 AM

    First Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 23160 battles
  • 2,871
  • [3NIC] 3NIC
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostYOUgoBOOM_2, on 27 July 2016 - 10:34 PM, said:

I'll need to get my laptop specs and post it on this thread.  The specs for my laptop are lower than my desktop all the way around with integrated graphics, and I get great fps outta that computer I bought in 2012.  It won't even play steam games at all.

Here is my laptop specs;  https://www.asus.com...ecifications/   (forgot it does have a graphics card, but ... does not run steam games ... I keep comparing it to steam because steam is so picky and media rich)

 

Is this a game geared more for 32bit....?  Wouldn't make any sense.

 

Again, I run day of defeat and counter-strike steam games on this desktop and get great rates and positive ratios regularly.

 

hmmmm

 

Thanks for the posts folks, I really do appreciate it. :)

 

Link doesn't work.  

 

This game basically runs as a 32-bit process but is able to offload some things to another core, and should run just fine on a 64-bit system.  But regardless, that card is below the minimum requirements for this game.  CS:GO is based on an old platform and has relatively minimal requirements.  Day of Defeat launched in 2003 and hasn't even updated their webpage since 2007.

 

That's a really old system that was basically entry-level when it was new... many years ago.  You can't scream into the case and expect that it's going to suddenly start performing to 2016 expectations.



YOUgoBOOM_2 #17 Posted 28 July 2016 - 02:59 AM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 827 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    02-15-2016

You're thinking of the pre-source steam games.  Source is a hog.

Let me try the laptop link again, click on specs on the right;  www.asus.com/Notebooks/N50Vn


Edited by YOUgoBOOM_2, 28 July 2016 - 03:00 AM.


Sojo #18 Posted 28 July 2016 - 03:15 AM

    First Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 23160 battles
  • 2,871
  • [3NIC] 3NIC
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostBotCDR, on 27 July 2016 - 10:49 PM, said:

But regardless, that card is below the minimum requirements for this game.  

 



YOUgoBOOM_2 #19 Posted 28 July 2016 - 03:17 AM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 827 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    02-15-2016

Just does not compute with me.

My desktop is more powerful than the laptop, and the desktop drops fps too low.  *shrug*



x_WARHOG_x #20 Posted 28 July 2016 - 03:42 AM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 29911 battles
  • 627
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    12-07-2013

View PostYOUgoBOOM_2, on 27 July 2016 - 09:59 PM, said:

You're thinking of the pre-source steam games.  Source is a hog.

Let me try the laptop link again, click on specs on the right;  www.asus.com/Notebooks/N50Vn

 

Even though its integrated its better than the card you have in the desktop and more than likely works together better with the components in the laptop, Such as the card in the desktop is probably creating a bottleneck for the processor.

Edited by x_WARHOG_x, 28 July 2016 - 03:43 AM.

Sneaking up on your six.....................






Also tagged with FPS lag, FPS, lag

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users