Jump to content


Windows 10 to do it or not


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

Psicko23 #1 Posted 21 July 2016 - 09:40 AM

    First Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 18508 battles
  • 2,189
  • [-WS-] -WS-
  • Member since:
    02-04-2014
Since time is running really low on the free upgrade to windows 10, should I do it or not? I'd like the pros and cons from people that have it. Thanks a bunch. 

TheHuffpuff #2 Posted 21 July 2016 - 10:04 AM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 4456 battles
  • 428
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    06-07-2012
I would be interested in hearing about this too.  I currently have Windows 8 and have no qualms.

BuffaloTime #3 Posted 21 July 2016 - 11:09 AM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 16207 battles
  • 392
  • [WHAWK] WHAWK
  • Member since:
    03-10-2012
If you use 8, then 10 is much better. The start menu is better, and certain new functions make it very user friendly. The notification function is especially useful. Don't forget that 7 will stop being supported soon. I would advise upgrading.

RedSpartacus #4 Posted 21 July 2016 - 11:31 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 16405 battles
  • 1,370
  • [GW__S] GW__S
  • Member since:
    02-02-2014

I use my desktop computer at home for entertaining only. Development is always oriented towards the latest standard. I like the fact that whatever I plug in or download works.

I upgraded from Windows 7 to 10 without any problems. It works smooth on my machine. In the beginning Windows 10 was a bit confusing but soon I found the functions I needed.

For me I couldn't see any point to stick to Windows 7.


  RUN WITH THE PACK

DragonMaxx #5 Posted 21 July 2016 - 11:46 AM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 5423 battles
  • 343
  • [-WS-] -WS-
  • Member since:
    10-29-2012

I have been on Windows 10 since September and I have had no issues. 

 


Edited by DragonMaxx, 21 July 2016 - 11:48 AM.

Do Not Meddle In the Affairs of Dragons...for You are Crunchy & Good with Ketchup!!


K1OXD #6 Posted 21 July 2016 - 11:48 AM

    Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 12181 battles
  • 69
  • [GWG] GWG
  • Member since:
    07-10-2013
I upgraded this 5 year old Dell Win 7 machine to Win 10 2 weeks ago. It has been seamless. Game plays fine. Took 5 hours though.

dityboycom #7 Posted 21 July 2016 - 11:51 AM

    Colonel

  • Member
  • 10135 battles
  • 9,198
  • [BAGG] BAGG
  • Member since:
    08-23-2014
Upgraded all my personal computers to Win 10, and all my business computers on the networks I run to Win 10. It's the bee's knee's, no reason to not do it. There are no cons.

WOW


TeamTerrible #8 Posted 21 July 2016 - 12:55 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 43713 battles
  • 1,637
  • [S-S-G] S-S-G
  • Member since:
    12-29-2012

Still running Win7 but I ran a copy of Win10 on a different hard drive

 

Both copies are legit of course...but only using Win10 when i have to

 

7 isn't broken so no need to fix it but might as well save a buck down the road

 

 


 

 

         


FlakValleyExpress #9 Posted 21 July 2016 - 01:12 PM

    Captain

  • Member
  • 11948 battles
  • 3,392
  • Member since:
    02-09-2012

Windows 10 reminds me of this from the Matrix

 

 

It always think it is the center of the universe. If you can get by that, I think you will be surprise how well windows is going. I notice a speed increase on boot-up and in other functions. Of course you will have a learning curve, but there is plenty YouTube videos that can answer your questions. The big change is the Windows defender for Anti-virus and malware, and drive indexing. The tiles will take some time to get use to. Overall it is not that bad if you can get over its ego. I say go for it overall.


Airborne Scout - Class of 1.0

Fidei Defensor of WoWP,  Fortissimus Spei,  Amicus Autem Multis

"Battle is the Great Redeemer. It is the fiery crucible in which true heroes are forged. The one place where all men truly share the same rank, regardless of what kind of parasitic scum they were going in."

To clear WoWP Cache -Please press the windows key + r to open the 'run' dialog. Then type in %temp%\wargaming.net Then delete the "wowp" folder. This will clear the game cache


Noreaga #10 Posted 21 July 2016 - 01:38 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 8691 battles
  • 2,741
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    03-05-2012

i had lots of problems with win 10, and have gone back to Win 7. Once i get newer parts i think the BSOD's i got in 10 and not in 7 will fix themselves, it is a very efficient system and i do notice about 20% less fan usage for the same approximate heat. I get the vista upgrade feeling from it, but think in time it will be just as good as Win7.

 

 

imo


Nimis obnoxii curare


Mackunaima #11 Posted 21 July 2016 - 01:41 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 20126 battles
  • 1,409
  • [WHAWK] WHAWK
  • Member since:
    04-09-2012

Well a lot of things to talk about. In few words, I updated my PC and Notebook. PC was updated by windows update, this gave me a few problems, mainly about drives. My notebook ASUS was updated too by windows updates, I had a few problems too than I sent my notebook to the manufacter ASUS, and they did format it and reinstall Windows 10. It is really fine now.

 

If your hardware is a brand new one or not so old, I think everything will be fine for you but if you do have an old hardware maybe will find a few problems like me.

 

You should read these articles

 

For commom user:

http://www.trustedre...10-vs-windows-7

 

What do you want to know about Windows 10 and games:

http://www.digitaltr...ng-performance/

 

Also you could read this thread:

https://www.reddit.c...ming_right_now/

 

Regards,

Mack


"Certainty of death. Small chance of success. What are we waiting for?" - Gimli


Noreaga #12 Posted 21 July 2016 - 01:51 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 8691 battles
  • 2,741
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    03-05-2012
mack that is an amazing post thank you!

Nimis obnoxii curare


Mackunaima #13 Posted 21 July 2016 - 02:10 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 20126 battles
  • 1,409
  • [WHAWK] WHAWK
  • Member since:
    04-09-2012

View PostNoreaga, on 21 July 2016 - 10:51 AM, said:

mack that is an amazing post thank you!

 

Tnx dude.. :teethhappy:

"Certainty of death. Small chance of success. What are we waiting for?" - Gimli


pigeon_kicker #14 Posted 21 July 2016 - 02:47 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Open Beta Tester
  • 19756 battles
  • 1,343
  • [SF] SF
  • Member since:
    08-04-2013

NO for a gaming rig, YES for a laptop

 

If you UPGRADE your hardware, you must reactivate it, and it sucks.

Win10 uses a hardware based code to get registration, change your hardware it changes your code.

 


If you want to make god laugh, tell him about your plans for survival..

Lead developer for the NACCW web site. Author of the Pigeon Pak Mod Installer

www.team-sf.com

 

 


Noreaga #15 Posted 21 July 2016 - 02:50 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 8691 battles
  • 2,741
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    03-05-2012
I thought it only used the hardware code for the hard drive? no idea if its true i just know you are right about the hardware stupidity.

Nimis obnoxii curare


honorabili #16 Posted 21 July 2016 - 03:10 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 15538 battles
  • 1,021
  • [-WS-] -WS-
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Using Windows 7. No need for 10 unless you play some extreme game that requires using DX12 for which there's almost no games right now. Win10 also has compatibility issues with some older software, so no thank you. Everything works fine on Win7.

doublespook #17 Posted 21 July 2016 - 03:37 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Member
  • 6491 battles
  • 1,110
  • [VULCN] VULCN
  • Member since:
    02-16-2014

If you have invested in a Microsoft Office package and will upgrade from Windows 7 to 10, be aware your Office program will be kaput. 

I installed/upgraded to Windows 10, but changed it back to Windows 7. You get screwed with needing to buy another Office package, and that's no small amount to coin. My Office package is the full monty, with everything. Not the small package with just 3 applications.



Bubba_Zanetti #18 Posted 21 July 2016 - 03:47 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 27424 battles
  • 1,165
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View Postdoublespook, on 21 July 2016 - 10:37 AM, said:

If you have invested in a Microsoft Office package and will upgrade from Windows 7 to 10, be aware your Office program will be kaput. 

I installed/upgraded to Windows 10, but changed it back to Windows 7. You get screwed with needing to buy another Office package, and that's no small amount to coin. My Office package is the full monty, with everything. Not the small package with just 3 applications.

 

Please elaborate?


Edited by Bubba_Zanetti, 21 July 2016 - 03:56 PM.


losttwo #19 Posted 21 July 2016 - 07:03 PM

    which way do we go?

  • Community Ace
  • 29924 battles
  • 12,362
  • [S-S-G] S-S-G
  • Member since:
    05-15-2012
I have no regrets downloading windows 10

dityboycom #20 Posted 21 July 2016 - 07:27 PM

    Colonel

  • Member
  • 10135 battles
  • 9,198
  • [BAGG] BAGG
  • Member since:
    08-23-2014

View PostBubba_Zanetti, on 21 July 2016 - 11:47 AM, said:

 

Please elaborate?

 

He either boot legged his office, or doesn't know how to reactivate his software which should have no problems reactivating if it's legit.

WOW





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users