Jump to content


XBOX 360 Controller setup


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
46 replies to this topic

iLLuSioN3 #1 Posted 18 October 2011 - 04:04 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha Test Veteran
  • 0 battles
  • 32
  • Member since:
    10-11-2011
I first started out using the 360 controller but it wasn't as responsive as I would like it to be. I also couldn't get the trigger buttons to work. I tried messing with Xpadder but didn't do anything to help in-game. Xpadder did recognize the trigger buttons though.

I know there's someone out there that got it working and hopefully someone could post, step by step, how they did it here. I don't mind editing files if thats the case.

I haven't broken down and bought a Joystick yet... keyboard for me until I can sort this out.

Thanks!

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
Asus M4A89GTD PRO
XFX Radeon HD 6870 Black Edition
8GB RAM Corsair

tomt610 #2 Posted 18 October 2011 - 06:15 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha Test Veteran
  • 0 battles
  • 34
  • Member since:
    10-11-2011
Here is my Xbox360 controls config file that goes into: \WoWp_Alpha\game\res\scripts\input_mapping
Try it without inverting axis or changing keybindings and post your opinion on how it feels as it is and maybe after few flights you could modify it and post feedback what and why should things be changed

Need to check how attach files :P

Ok i dont think i can attach anything to this forum post so here is mediafire link

Phoenix_Flame #3 Posted 18 October 2011 - 09:43 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha Test Veteran
  • 0 battles
  • 87
  • Member since:
    10-11-2011
the triggers and joysticks need to be configured under 'Key Ramapping' they need to be added under the very right hand column 'Axis' select the thing you want to map, ie: rudder, then if you want the option to be up or down on a joystick hold the joy stick up as far as you can and hit ok ( or the Russian equivalent ), if you want the key to be mapped to the joystick moving left or right wiggle the joystick, let it centralize itself then hit ok without pressing any other key.

iLLuSioN3 #4 Posted 18 October 2011 - 11:06 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha Test Veteran
  • 0 battles
  • 32
  • Member since:
    10-11-2011

View Posttomt610, on 18 October 2011 - 06:15 PM, said:

Here is my Xbox360 controls config file that goes into: \WoWp_Alpha\game\res\scripts\input_mapping
Try it without inverting axis or changing keybindings and post your opinion on how it feels as it is and maybe after few flights you could modify it and post feedback what and why should things be changed

I copy and pasted it in the directory and it created a new control preset "xbox360"... nice!

OK... It works perfectly now! Thanks! I did end up inverting the Y axis:


0

I'm posting that in case someone else wants to too. Change it from 1 -> 0.

I've always had it inverted on all fight sims. I do like the way you have it laid out though. I'll play with it some more to see how I like it.

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
Asus M4A89GTD PRO
XFX Radeon HD 6870 Black Edition
8GB RAM Corsair

daywalkerr #5 Posted 19 October 2011 - 02:43 AM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 0 battles
  • 20
  • Member since:
    10-12-2011
I have a 360, just wondering how you are able to play on the computer using the 360's controller? I have never heard of or seen this before and would like to try it.

tomt610 #6 Posted 19 October 2011 - 02:54 AM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha Test Veteran
  • 0 battles
  • 34
  • Member since:
    10-11-2011

View Postdaywalkerr, on 19 October 2011 - 02:43 AM, said:

I have a 360, just wondering how you are able to play on the computer using the 360's controller? I have never heard of or seen this before and would like to try it.
there is xbox to usb converter that let you plug it into pc, i just bought gamepad with it so i dont know where to get it but this is how it works

daywalkerr #7 Posted 19 October 2011 - 04:57 AM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 0 battles
  • 20
  • Member since:
    10-12-2011

View Posttomt610, on 19 October 2011 - 02:54 AM, said:

there is xbox to usb converter that let you plug it into pc, i just bought gamepad with it so i dont know where to get it but this is how it works

What is gamepad and where can i find this xbox to usb converter?

tomt610 #8 Posted 19 October 2011 - 05:07 AM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha Test Veteran
  • 0 battles
  • 34
  • Member since:
    10-11-2011

View Postdaywalkerr, on 19 October 2011 - 04:57 AM, said:

What is gamepad and where can i find this xbox to usb converter?
gamepad is just xbox 360 controller, and i told you that i dont know where to find this, maybe someone else does, i got it in box with controller

iLLuSioN3 #9 Posted 19 October 2011 - 04:50 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha Test Veteran
  • 0 battles
  • 32
  • Member since:
    10-11-2011
All Xbox 360 WIRED controllers are USB. There is an adapter at the end of wire but it always comes with it. You can't connect it to the Xbox 360 without it. Are you sure you're not thinking of an original Xbox controller, which isn't USB.

There's also an adapter to connect the wireless controller to the 360.

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
Asus M4A89GTD PRO
XFX Radeon HD 6870 Black Edition
8GB RAM Corsair

tomt610 #10 Posted 19 October 2011 - 05:19 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha Test Veteran
  • 0 battles
  • 34
  • Member since:
    10-11-2011
ohh, there are also wireless xbox360 controllers, i forgot about that, if you have any of those i cannot help you since i dont know how they work

daywalkerr #11 Posted 19 October 2011 - 06:01 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 0 battles
  • 20
  • Member since:
    10-12-2011
i get it now, thanks all. i have wireless controllers. didnt even know there were wired ones, im going out to get the adapter today, i just bought Xpadder, can someone give me some info as to how to properly set up xpadder with WoWP? thanks in advance!

Gryphius #12 Posted 31 October 2011 - 07:29 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Senior Alpha Test Veteran
  • 0 battles
  • 132
  • Member since:
    10-19-2011

View Posttomt610, on 18 October 2011 - 06:15 PM, said:

Here is my Xbox360 controls config file that goes into: \WoWp_Alpha\game\res\scripts\input_mapping
Try it without inverting axis or changing keybindings and post your opinion on how it feels as it is and maybe after few flights you could modify it and post feedback what and why should things be changed

Need to check how attach files :P

Ok i dont think i can attach anything to this forum post so here is mediafire link

Many thanks. The setup will take a little getting used to but so far the game controls reasonably well with a gamepad :)

For people aspiring to use the 360's USB plug-n-play adapter for wireless controllers, you may be out of luck. I tried to do so and found it was to no avail- only the properly wired one worked for me.

Fierfek #13 Posted 25 November 2011 - 12:44 AM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha Test Veteran
  • 44 battles
  • 85
  • Member since:
    11-17-2011
Do I have to download controller support from Microsoft?
[media]https://sites.google.com/site/fiermygames/home/Fierfek%20alpha27.png[/media]

Gryphius #14 Posted 25 November 2011 - 04:17 AM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Senior Alpha Test Veteran
  • 0 battles
  • 132
  • Member since:
    10-19-2011
The drivers automatically installed for me. However, you can't use the play-n-charge USB thing or whatever it's called. It needs to be one of the plain old wired ones.

Fierfek #15 Posted 25 November 2011 - 05:14 AM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha Test Veteran
  • 44 battles
  • 85
  • Member since:
    11-17-2011
I have never used mediaFire b4(will start now because it is soooo usefull), so I am not sure if this link will stay up.

LINK

I have been messing with the XBox controller all night. I began with your script tomt610. I found I did not like the control scheme but the sensitivity was a lot better. The link above is my version of the control scheme. Since I have no experience with .xml files I was hoping you could turn down the sensitivity and other factors and post a new version with the same control scheme for everyone here to share. I did not want to steal your work and post my in my own thread so I am giving you my version in hopes you can make it better. ty :)
[media]https://sites.google.com/site/fiermygames/home/Fierfek%20alpha27.png[/media]

tomt610 #16 Posted 01 December 2011 - 11:42 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha Test Veteran
  • 0 battles
  • 34
  • Member since:
    10-11-2011
you can change sensitivity in game, it will be saved in file then so you can share it

Fierfek #17 Posted 02 December 2011 - 12:10 AM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha Test Veteran
  • 44 battles
  • 85
  • Member since:
    11-17-2011

View Posttomt610, on 01 December 2011 - 11:42 PM, said:

you can change sensitivity in game, it will be saved in file then so you can share it

It seemed as if your sensitivy was lower than normal. I thought you set it manually
[media]https://sites.google.com/site/fiermygames/home/Fierfek%20alpha27.png[/media]

Diamond2000 #18 Posted 05 December 2011 - 09:38 AM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • WG HQ Staff
  • 0 battles
  • 698
  • Member since:
    10-12-2011
Guys, have you ever had this bug: http://forum.worldof...ge__gopid__8401


 


Gryphius #19 Posted 05 December 2011 - 04:27 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Senior Alpha Test Veteran
  • 0 battles
  • 132
  • Member since:
    10-19-2011
Never. Controller has worked 100% for me since I first tried it.

zmeul #20 Posted 13 December 2011 - 01:11 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha Test Veteran
  • 0 battles
  • 38
  • Member since:
    10-25-2011
I'm using the 360 wireless controller also, with no issues so far
人は地獄を作った