roadmap

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

J311yfish #1 Posted 27 September 2014 - 07:41 PM

Second Lieutenant

• 17870 battles
  • [343] 343

Background

-- About 10 months ago I started a number of tech tree projects (7 countries) to better understand how the game might take shape over the longterm.

-- What follows is my best guess at a "roadmap" for future development as the game becomes more intricate with potential types of aircraft (beyond fighters and attack aircraft).

Disclaimer

-- I am not a developer, just an enthusiastic player.  Everything that follows is speculation, though I do my best to employ a logical process.

-- This is a way to synthesize information revealed through question/answer sessions (Gamecon, etc.) with what I have come to understand by researching many tech trees.

Goal

-- the first goal is to understand where the game is now in relationship to where it might be going.

-- the second goal is to establish a context for understanding developer decisions as the game progresses in the absence of an official roadmap.

How it works

-- Each stage below is defined by the game-changing mechanics that might be needed to implement a broader array of aircraft (night fighters, etc.).

-- It is very much like trying to identify distinct layers of the atmosphere as you travel upward.  I think you'll see what I mean.

-- The numbering of stages below suggest linear development, but it is better understood as a circular process with increasing intricacy/refinement.

-- It is just a framework to understand game development, okay?  It's just for fun.

Developers:  please feel free to add to the discussion

Moderators:  please delete this post if it is not constructive

Stage 0 -- foundation

Stage 1 -- fighters for all major powers

Stage 2 -- ground attack mechanics

Stage 3 -- clan mechanics

Stage 4 -- targeting mechanics + radar mechanics

Stage 5 -- terrain collision mechanics

Stage 6 -- market expansion