Why doesn't the plane turn when I bank the wings?

ailerons rolling turning controls banking physics

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
10 replies to this topic

jdp245 #1 Posted 21 November 2013 - 01:32 PM

Airman Basic

• 0 battles
I just tried the game for the first time, using an XBOX 360 gamepad.  I have been a student pilot and currently fly a lot of flight simulators, so I know quite a bit about the physics of flight.  In a real aircraft, when you bank the wings (accomplished by turning the yoke or moving the stick right/left), the vector of lift is tilted to the side, causing the aircraft to turn in the direction of your roll.  But in the game tutorials, when I bank the wings the plane just continues to fly straight.  For anyone with any experience flying planes or simulators, this is just a gamebreaking failure.  It makes the planes in this game impossible to control intuitively (ie the way planes actually fly).  Have I missed something in my settings?  Is there any way to change this?  I searched the forums and couldn't find anything on this.

amade #2 Posted 21 November 2013 - 01:52 PM

Command Chief Master Sergeant

• Alpha tester
  • 452 battles

It's because this game isn't a sim. It's actually more of an arcade game.

petersleepy #3 Posted 21 November 2013 - 02:00 PM

TnB Rights Activist

• Community Ace
  • 0 battles
  • [MLPVA] MLPVA
If you turn off side slip compensation in the settings, the plane should start banking.

"It's only game, why you heff to be mad?" ~Ilya Bryzgalov

WulfNose #4 Posted 21 November 2013 - 02:05 PM

Chief Petty Officer

• Community Ace
  • 570 battles