How do you deal with tailgunners?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
27 replies to this topic

ComradeBlyat #1 Posted 18 November 2013 - 04:45 PM

Senior Master Sergeant

• Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles

Hello!

I am fairly new to WoWp. I am currently grinding through the Japanese line and I really enjoy the planes in general (tbh it probably has more to do with my interest in Japanese planes then their in game performance). Iam currently on the A6M1 and I have one major issue.

How do you deal with tail gunners? They allways seem to put me to 1/2 hp before I can shoot the enemy plane down. This greatly limits the fighting I can do after.

-Edit: What angle should I take when trying to gain an elevated position? The fights always seem to occur way above my head (500m+)

Thanks!

Soviet Bias>German Orbit Planes

Zen35 #2 Posted 18 November 2013 - 04:49 PM

Aerial Ninjitsu

• Community Ace
  • 0 battles
  • [DRACS] DRACS

Attack from a high angle...... From the side.....

Better yet..... get clsoe but below the plane.......the come up......and fire

But the best way is from the side... making slashing attacks.....

If you see the Tracers...............It's too late

Deusmortis #3 Posted 18 November 2013 - 05:01 PM

Master Sergeant

• Closed Beta Tester
  • 520 battles

Indeed.  Rather than chasing their tail, come in from perpindicular angles.   Fly from his right to his left, turn, fly from his left to his right, repeat as needed. 

As for the second part, Japanese planes don't have great boost or climb rates.  It will be difficult to get to high altitudes, and once you get there, your plane will have terrible performance.  It's a weakness of the line.

Heh #4 Posted 18 November 2013 - 05:09 PM

Sky Whale Historian

• Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
Note that you're in the Japanese line. You need to attack the sky whale PERFECTLY or get shafted. Coming in from practically perpendicular angles is indeed a good way of knocking them down.