Jump to content


Bug? With Joystick


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
16 replies to this topic

FastAttack #1 Posted 17 July 2013 - 12:08 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 1,003
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
I've had an interesting re-occurring bug.. I haven't reported it yet , but wanted to rule out hardware issue or see if someone else has reported it:

It happens mostly when I leave the game on and haven't played it for a bit , or it can happen at sporadic times

Logitech Extreme 3d Pro
Symptom :

Joystick becomes fully inop , its a dead stick , nothing happens. If Alt Tab'd to the joystick config in windows its there  and functioning .. If I remove the joystick and reconnect it , it will probably 1-10 times recover.
Most of the time I have to exit the game and come back in. And it will function as tested.

Its getting annoying because I end up being the "guy" that flies straight and pretty much everyone chews you out thinking your a bot ( I try to communicate or switch to mouse 4.1 ) so I can semi do something.
I am just a tad bit annoyed.

icoleman #2 Posted 17 July 2013 - 12:37 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 82
  • [ARMDA] ARMDA
  • Member since:
    01-30-2012
Off topic, but I use the exact same Joy-Stick. It's so old but so good.

On topic? Try checking your control pannel and trouble-shoot for errors. If that doesnt work, I have to say reinstall WoWP.
 

FastAttack #3 Posted 17 July 2013 - 01:06 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 1,003
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View Posticoleman, on 17 July 2013 - 12:37 PM, said:

Off topic, but I use the exact same Joy-Stick. It's so old but so good.

On topic? Try checking your control pannel and trouble-shoot for errors. If that doesnt work, I have to say reinstall WoWP.

thats the weird part the joystick is in the control panel , working as stated.. just WoWP just stop working.. and no reason why.
Tried a reinstall and it still occurs , its just sporadic but weird.

DrSinister #4 Posted 17 July 2013 - 01:15 PM

    High-Tech Medic

  • -Community Ace-
  • 121 battles
  • 4,224
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Have tried to reinstall the 3D Pro Drivers?  I had a similalr issue and the Drivers would AWOL but the PC still see it but as a Default Controller not as Logitch Extreme 3D Pro.   But I reboot the PC and the drivers come back, so I reinstalled the drivers thinking that the drivers got corrupted.

FastAttack #5 Posted 19 July 2013 - 01:17 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 1,003
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostDrSinister, on 17 July 2013 - 01:15 PM, said:

Have tried to reinstall the 3D Pro Drivers?  I had a similalr issue and the Drivers would AWOL but the PC still see it but as a Default Controller not as Logitch Extreme 3D Pro.   But I reboot the PC and the drivers come back, so I reinstalled the drivers thinking that the drivers got corrupted.

yep done it , and also tried a second joystick it does the same thing.

It made wonder and I tried it on my laptop.. its the same issue.. it could be a windblows (sorry its sucky ) 8 problem .. dunno.. I guess I should submit a ticket at this time.

Tzar_Ivan #6 Posted 27 July 2013 - 12:57 AM

    Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 0 battles
  • 90
  • Member since:
    10-23-2012
Hey Guys! (I'm copy pasting from another thread here, forgive me!)
This is a known bug and we are working to get it fixed.
In the meantime, two things you can do.
One is play in Full Screen mode, (press alt + enter to switch between modes).
The other is to play the game with the Windows Task Manager open. This resolves the flashing black screens, and does not negatively impact performance.
Press control + alt + delete to open the task manager (on newer versions of windows click "Start Task Manager" after cntrl + alt + delete).
Now just leave the task manager open while playing.
We are working to get it resolved, but this will fix the issue in the meantime. Thanks for helping each other out guys!
-Ivan

FastAttack #7 Posted 02 August 2013 - 02:09 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 1,003
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostTzar_Ivan, on 27 July 2013 - 12:57 AM, said:

Hey Guys! (I'm copy pasting from another thread here, forgive me!)
This is a known bug and we are working to get it fixed.
In the meantime, two things you can do.
One is play in Full Screen mode, (press alt + enter to switch between modes).
The other is to play the game with the Windows Task Manager open. This resolves the flashing black screens, and does not negatively impact performance.
Press control + alt + delete to open the task manager (on newer versions of windows click "Start Task Manager" after cntrl + alt + delete).
Now just leave the task manager open while playing.
We are working to get it resolved, but this will fix the issue in the meantime. Thanks for helping each other out guys!
-Ivan

Thanks Tzar!
makes me feel better!

Tanker_Flanker #8 Posted 05 August 2013 - 06:17 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 0 battles
  • 2
  • [USAGG] USAGG
  • Member since:
    04-05-2013
Since you are talking about Joystick issues I figure I will chime in here. I use the Saitek X52 Joystick with the throttle control which gives me great control of the aircraft but hate using the Joystick VS the mouse because of the limited view despite the ability to change my camera view via the controls on my joystick, but the issue changing my camera view is that this makes it impossible to actually view your target while doing certain maneuvers. Where using the mouse makes that easy but then you have to trade off your maneuverability of the aircraft.  Does anyone have any suggestions on how to remedy this issue? Would be great if  WOWP would just come up with the ability to camera lock your target then the issue would be resolved.

petersleepy #9 Posted 05 August 2013 - 06:45 PM

    TnB Rights Activist

  • Community Ace
  • 0 battles
  • 1,494
  • [MLPVA] MLPVA
  • Member since:
    10-26-2011

View PostTanker_Flanker, on 05 August 2013 - 06:17 PM, said:

Since you are talking about Joystick issues I figure I will chime in here. I use the Saitek X52 Joystick with the throttle control which gives me great control of the aircraft but hate using the Joystick VS the mouse because of the limited view despite the ability to change my camera view via the controls on my joystick, but the issue changing my camera view is that this makes it impossible to actually view your target while doing certain maneuvers. Where using the mouse makes that easy but then you have to trade off your maneuverability of the aircraft. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to remedy this issue? Would be great if WOWP would just come up with the ability to camera lock your target then the issue would be resolved.
There is a snap to targeting the control settings. I just mapped it to one of the buttons on my joystick.

"It's only game, why you heff to be mad?" ~Ilya Bryzgalov


US_AFKY #10 Posted 04 September 2013 - 01:11 AM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 5 battles
  • 2
  • [FTRP] FTRP
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
I had same problem with Logiteck 3D Etreme...ITS WINDOWS...not the game...I was auto rolling and loosing control of the stick...RECALIBRATING it in control panel fixed it. Also calibration is hidden in Vista/7. how to find it is posted all over the net.
Hope it works for you as well.

WarHorse81 #11 Posted 27 September 2013 - 12:15 AM

    Senior Airman

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 2 battles
  • 19
  • [VULCN] VULCN
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Kind of same issue will try the fix thanks!

express556 #12 Posted 27 September 2013 - 11:55 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 79 battles
  • 30
  • [SOGC] SOGC
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
I also have had issues using my X52 sometimes the power will blink for a instant when the match starts and the calibration will shift off center of axis
causing control problems I have updated the drivers and I know its not a problem with the stick because it functions in other games without problems
I played some matches after the new patch it seems more stable but I am not ready to call this problem corrected yet I will play more matches and
keep my eyes on it I have always used sticks in flight games and don't plan on switching to mouse control.

QuickSilver_1 #13 Posted 28 October 2013 - 09:17 AM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Open Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 298
  • Member since:
    09-18-2013
I have the Logitech attach 3 it sometimes blanks out hen has a long delay n I can not play. I have to leave game and delete the pref in the wowp file and then log back and reset the controls in the game setting then it works 8 out of ten times the first time I do sometimes I have to do it more than one time. I have only direction  control, fire,sniper view. no other view except face forward.
the hat switch will not work. what is a better joy stick?
I have windows 7 professional, 3930k, 680 v card 32gb mem

Toggle #14 Posted 28 October 2013 - 11:15 AM

    First Lieutenant

  • Alpha tester
  • 4625 battles
  • 2,434
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    02-14-2012
I use the Logiteck 3D pro and now have no issues, although I used to.  Along with making sure the drivers are current and functioning as DrSinister suggested, look through all the key/button bindings in game settings.  The game will assign task to buttons that do not exist on your joystick.  Make sure all your buttons are assigned with the task you want and clear all others.  In addition, clear any duplicate bindings (task assigned to both a button and a key).

FastAttack #15 Posted 04 November 2013 - 07:41 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 1,003
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
I am bringing this up from the dead.

this is still occuring and it happens at random times but less often.

Sometimes if you unplug and plug the joystick back in , it finds it , sometimes it doesn't.

its annoying actually since i have to switch from joystick to mouse on a game , since I can't reboot the game once it has loaded.

LordAlexander #16 Posted 04 November 2013 - 08:15 PM

    Paper Plane Specialist

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 409
  • [WARRP] WARRP
  • Member since:
    11-16-2012
I have this problem sometimes when i mess with USB devices on the same usb controller as my joystick.  IE if I plug my phone in to charge or something it can mess with my joystick if I do this when in game.   I have to ALT f4 then reload the game to get back into the battle I was in.

express556 #17 Posted 07 November 2013 - 01:20 AM

    Master Sergeant

  • Member
  • 79 battles
  • 30
  • [SOGC] SOGC
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
My X52 was losing its center axis after moving the stick around quickly in game and in the X52 windows control panel test window
I disassembled and cleaned it with some electronic contact lubricant
now it seems to be working correctly
taking the base apart to clean the X and y axis was easy but cleaning the rudder axis was more difficult
because the rudder controls are inside the twist part of the stick

This stick has many hours of use and has been durable and I would purchase another X52.

I would like to thank Wargaming customer service with a prompt reply to my ticket
It turned out to be a hardware problem and not a WOWP problem




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users