Jump to content


I want to like WoWP, but the FPS makes it unplayable


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
17 replies to this topic

Greenadmiral #1 Posted 07 July 2013 - 05:04 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 0 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
I bought my Lenovo just 3 years ago, but even at the "very low" graphics settings I'm seeing 10 fps or lower regularly, average maybe 20.

Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7 CPU M 620 @ 2.67 GHz
Installed memory (RAM): 4.00 GB
Graphics card: NVIDIA NVS 3100M

Maybe it's a graphics card thing? I don't know much about computers. But I do know that such a low frame rate makes dogfighting really frustrating.

I've played World of Tanks since it was in open beta, and I love it. But WoWP is unplayable for me right now on this machine...maybe I'll try again after some updates.

Edited by Greenadmiral, 07 July 2013 - 05:24 PM.


meth0d68 #2 Posted 07 July 2013 - 05:16 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 6 battles
  • 189
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011
No troll, but yeah.... your gpu and ram is lacking

F50ACE #3 Posted 07 July 2013 - 05:19 PM

    Boom'N'Zoom rights activist

  • Community Ace
  • 8 battles
  • 1,829
  • [PTATO] PTATO
  • Member since:
    05-30-2013
How much video ram do you have? That may be it. I'm running at 10-20 fps also, but I've gotten used to it. :playing:

Greenadmiral #4 Posted 07 July 2013 - 05:30 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 0 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
It looks like my video memory is 1932 MB

PanzerXO #5 Posted 07 July 2013 - 05:32 PM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 757
  • Member since:
    05-23-2012
This sounds like a personal problem; a 3 year old laptop?  On a game not even released?

Seriously, the devs should not be making a game playable by last gen consoles just to please you.

The game is exceptionally playable, with good framerates on many computers - even those not built in the last year.

Your RAM is too low, your graphics card does not meet the minimum requirements posted by the devs.  About the only thing you have that is game-ready is the CPU.

View PostRosebud, on , said:


...By flying into the middle you are boldly stating that you are a noob and haven’t learned your lesson yet.
ROSEBUD

EdtheSavage #6 Posted 08 July 2013 - 05:42 AM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 0 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
i might have the same problem i only have 4 gbs of ram and a raiden 4670... running on a dell xps 12 studio laptop

Merkoth #7 Posted 08 July 2013 - 05:42 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 0 battles
  • 9
  • Member since:
    07-03-2013
4 GB of RAM isn't a problem for me but then again, I have a Radeon 6850, not an underpowered laptop GPU.

Pinko_Zinko #8 Posted 11 July 2013 - 07:46 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 5 battles
  • 384
  • Member since:
    08-26-2012
My system is 4 years old and does fine.

OP's issue is a laptop video chip using shared system memory.

FreeFOXMIKE #9 Posted 11 July 2013 - 08:29 PM

    G.A.T.P. (Global Alpha Test Pilot)

  • Member
  • 4490 battles
  • 6,737
  • [332ND] 332ND
  • Member since:
    10-25-2011
update all your systems drivers, set all your setting to low and point (the AC will have a super shiny metal appearance) and set your game to full screen the games runs better at full screen (unlike most game that can run faster windowed) hope that can help a little.

           332 Virtual  Fighter  Group

 


triptyx #10 Posted 11 July 2013 - 08:34 PM

    Flying Llama

  • Community Ace
  • 0 battles
  • 1,622
  • [FLLMA] FLLMA
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostFreeFOXMIKE, on 11 July 2013 - 08:29 PM, said:

update all your systems drivers, set all your setting to low and point (the AC will have a super shiny metal appearance) and set your game to full screen the games runs better at full screen (unlike most game that can run faster windowed) hope that can help a little.

I think this was mentioned, but shut things down!  Shut off as much as you can, including suspending AV.  Laptops are notorious for having really slow hard drives and constrained resources.  Further, make sure you don't have your power settings to anything but max.  A lot of modern laptops tend to have default power settings that limit the maximum performance to save battery/power resources.

TheGreenTank #11 Posted 11 July 2013 - 09:30 PM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Alpha tester
  • 0 battles
  • 939
  • [MEMES] MEMES
  • Member since:
    01-11-2012
only 4G of RAM and your graphics card is...terrible. It's barely on par with the default Intel Graphics that's built into every one of their CPUs - i.e. nowhere *near* suitable for gaming anything made since 2005.

Get another 4G RAM stick & get a newer graphics card - doesn't have to be state-of-the-art or cutting-edge, something like a 400 or 500 series NVIDIA card would be fine; you can get them for 80-160 bucks, varying. I recommend newegg.com.

Though of course, if you have the cash to splurge, if you get the new 600 or 700 series you can easily run this on high detail & maintain high framerate.




At any rate folks need to stop blaming WarGaming for low frame-rates - WarGaming has absolutely no control over what hardware you decide to try their products on.


P.S. if you don't know anything about computer internals, look up mysuperpc.com - great guide, easy to read & navigate through the website

Edited by TheGreenTank, 11 July 2013 - 09:33 PM.


FreeFOXMIKE #12 Posted 11 July 2013 - 10:09 PM

    G.A.T.P. (Global Alpha Test Pilot)

  • Member
  • 4490 battles
  • 6,737
  • [332ND] 332ND
  • Member since:
    10-25-2011

View PostTheGreenTank, on 11 July 2013 - 09:30 PM, said:

only 4G of RAM and your graphics card is...terrible. It's barely on par with the default Intel Graphics that's built into every one of their CPUs - i.e. nowhere *near* suitable for gaming anything made since 2005.

Get another 4G RAM stick & get a newer graphics card - doesn't have to be state-of-the-art or cutting-edge, something like a 400 or 500 series NVIDIA card would be fine; you can get them for 80-160 bucks, varying. I recommend newegg.com.

Though of course, if you have the cash to splurge, if you get the new 600 or 700 series you can easily run this on high detail & maintain high framerate.




At any rate folks need to stop blaming WarGaming for low frame-rates - WarGaming has absolutely no control over what hardware you decide to try their products on.


P.S. if you don't know anything about computer internals, look up mysuperpc.com - great guide, easy to read & navigate through the website


before buying ram get the advice of a seller you can boost ram all you want but if the motherboard wont supports it you wasted you money I use to think as long as I had slots I was good ,but with the newer ram bars you can exceed  you MB capacities

           332 Virtual  Fighter  Group

 


KSK_ALTAY #13 Posted 13 July 2013 - 02:06 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 14
  • [-ATR-] -ATR-
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostGreenadmiral, on 07 July 2013 - 05:04 PM, said:

I bought my Lenovo just 3 years ago, but even at the "very low" graphics settings I'm seeing 10 fps or lower regularly, average maybe 20.

Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7 CPU M 620 @ 2.67 GHz
Installed memory (RAM): 4.00 GB
Graphics card: NVIDIA NVS 3100M

Maybe it's a graphics card thing? I don't know much about computers. But I do know that such a low frame rate makes dogfighting really frustrating.

I've played World of Tanks since it was in open beta, and I love it. But WoWP is unplayable for me right now on this machine...maybe I'll try again after some updates.

this is really enough to run this game, but you need to terminate backgroung programs and defrag your pc, and also scan with a antivirus software to clean unwanted stuff. Also, update your drivers.
D-38. First Turkish twin engine passenger plane, domestically designed and manufactured before ww2.

AdmiralKird #14 Posted 13 July 2013 - 02:38 PM

    Feedback Airedale

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 1,323
  • [PTATO] PTATO
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Quadro cards (NVS) are not gaming cards - they're built for the development side of 3D applications that require rending times, not real-time rendering. Your card is also a x10 model, meaning it is on the low end of the spectrum for the 300 series. It would run better if you had a Geforce or Radeon.

And GPU Ram is only a limiting factor really for displaying textures and large resolutions.


Jiri_Starrider said:
IMO you're hamstrung by WG's deep-rooted "I've got a secret" complex.

Strykewolf #15 Posted 13 July 2013 - 03:21 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 0 battles
  • 22
  • [AR15] AR15
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Well, check your power options for the comp (especially laptops).  If it is not set for 'performance' set for performance.  Mine was set to video and after changing it, picked up 40fps on WoT and 30-ish on WoWP.

Also, I have had my laptop default back to the onboard/built-in-the-motherboard graphics when the comp got too hot and house temps broke 100.  Had to reset it back to the card.

And yeah, check for updated drivers.

PersianHercules #16 Posted 19 July 2013 - 01:07 AM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 0 battles
  • 6
  • [WOHT] WOHT
  • Member since:
    07-03-2013
Just have to lower all settings to minimum! I did that and I'm doing just fine.

capkirk #17 Posted 02 August 2013 - 09:29 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 0 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    07-22-2013
i dont really notice lag because i played on a 5 year old system with 2 GB of RAM,  a Pentium 4, and a 40 Hz CTR moniter

capkirk #18 Posted 02 August 2013 - 09:31 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 0 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    07-22-2013
now i have a custom pc with 4th gen core i5,  8 gb of RAM, and a nivida GTX video card




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users