Jump to content


DrSinister's Mod Pak Installer v1.9.0 for Patch 1.9.9.0

DrSinister Mods Compilation

  • Please log in to reply
1128 replies to this topic

Zapperguy #41 Posted 08 August 2013 - 10:53 AM

    First Lieutenant

  • -Community Ace-
  • 32581 battles
  • 2,298
  • [CLOWN] CLOWN
  • Member since:
    04-04-2012

View Posthawkeyededic, on 07 August 2013 - 05:48 PM, said:

A very good place to start for skinning would be THIS thread. as it is a very well written guide to getting started, it is where I started when I began skinning for WoWP.
Thanks for your reply. I know how to skin & did use that helpful thread to learn. I even posted a few here a while back: http://forum.worldof...pperguys-skins/
My question was regarding the "easy to use" mod system for skins & other mods apparently similar to what WoT has, but I have not yet used not do I fully understand this different method.

 

'Customize Your Carousel' thread - LINK

Custom skins for I-16(L), LBSh, & IL-20 - LINK
 


DrSinister #42 Posted 13 August 2013 - 01:13 AM

    High-Tech Medic

  • -Community Ace-
  • 4764 battles
  • 3,915
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Let see if I can explain this better.

The Res_Mod folder is not in the default installation of the game. The Mod Gurus over on the Russian forums has figured out how to use the Res_mod folder like you would in WoT so you do not have to edit the core files. There is one modification of a core file that has to be done though to get the client to recognize the Res_mod folder. The file paths.xml needs to be modded, which is located in the root directory of where you install World of Warplanes. What needs to be modded is this command line needs to be added: <Path>res_mods/</Path>. Once this has been added this allows the client to recognize the res_mod folder. The reason that this works is that the client already has the information to process the res_mod folder because its part of WoT, so we just had to get the client to recognize the folder.

Now, you just have to simply create the res_mod folder into the root directory. There is no need for the version number of the client needed (for now, probably will need it when WoWp fully releases) like it does in WoT. Then its just getting the right folders to correspond with the file system in res folder. Also inside the res_mod folder you need the Localization folder from the res folder. So, just copy the localization folder from res folder and paste it in res_mod folder.

Let me show some examples, First, a simple file xml file edit, like the camera mod.

So, the camera mod modifies aircraft_camera_presets.xml which is located in \res\scripts\db, so to make this work with the res_mod folder you just have to make the following directory:
\res_mod\scripts\db and then place the modded aircraft_camera_presets.xml in the db folder.

Now, for the modded files that need to go into the pkg files. Let's do one with the gui.pkg file and modding hudWOTAviagorizont.swf file. Now, we all know that from the old way you had to open the gui.pkg with an archiver program (WinRAR, 7Zip, etc) and when you opened it you also saw that there was a file directory within the gui.pkg file. With in the gui.pkg file directory you find that the hudWOTAviagorizont.swf is located in gui\flash\, so all you have to do to is to make this directory in the res_mod folder:

\res_mods\gui\flash and then drop the hudWOTAviagorizont.swf into the flash folder.

Now, for skinning it works a bit differently, since you do not have to reference the res_mod with \res\packages\vehicles_airplanes_american.pkg or vehicles_airplanes_russian.pkg or vehicles_airplanes_german.pkg or vehicles_airplanes_japan.pkg (this is where the dds files are located to edit each skin).

The file directory needed to mod the files for skinning are done this way:

Posted Image

So, if you wanted to mod the US09_F4F_desert.dds, you would place the modded file in this directory:

\res_mods\vehicles\airplanes\american\US09_F4F\US09_F4F_desert.dds

I do not know if this helps at all at understanding this. But below I have the empty folders for all the airplanes with the modded paths.xml and localization folder already setup. So just unzip the file into your World of Warplanes root directory.

Attached File   res_mod for plane skinning.zip   211.26K

Zapperguy #43 Posted 14 August 2013 - 05:56 AM

    First Lieutenant

  • -Community Ace-
  • 32581 battles
  • 2,298
  • [CLOWN] CLOWN
  • Member since:
    04-04-2012
WooHoo! Just what I was hoping for. You rock, DrSinister! +1
:honoring:

 

'Customize Your Carousel' thread - LINK

Custom skins for I-16(L), LBSh, & IL-20 - LINK
 


SkyWolf__WM #44 Posted 14 August 2013 - 01:56 PM

    Captain

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 28973 battles
  • 3,808
  • [GW__S] GW__S
  • Member since:
    07-13-2012
Sinister

What does it mean when I get this instead of D Day stripes?

Attached Thumbnails


***************Fail to Suck****************

I shall use my aircraft and my skill to slightly inconvenience mine enemies.


DrSinister #45 Posted 14 August 2013 - 02:07 PM

    High-Tech Medic

  • -Community Ace-
  • 4764 battles
  • 3,915
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostSkyWolf__WM, on 14 August 2013 - 01:56 PM, said:

Sinister

What does it mean when I get this instead of D Day stripes?

I had this happen to me and I posted it on page 2:

http://forum.worldof...650#entry268650

I had to go into Photoshop myself and change how the DDS was saved.  Had to save it to DXT1 ARGB 4 bpp 1 bit alpha, so that it appears correctly for me.

I use to just save it defaulted as DXT1 RGB 4 bpp no alpha.

SkyWolf__WM #46 Posted 14 August 2013 - 02:15 PM

    Captain

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 28973 battles
  • 3,808
  • [GW__S] GW__S
  • Member since:
    07-13-2012
I see. not at all. Have to go digging when I'm capable of rational thought.

Attached Thumbnails


***************Fail to Suck****************

I shall use my aircraft and my skill to slightly inconvenience mine enemies.


DrSinister #47 Posted 14 August 2013 - 03:10 PM

    High-Tech Medic

  • -Community Ace-
  • 4764 battles
  • 3,915
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostSkyWolf__WM, on 14 August 2013 - 02:15 PM, said:

I see. not at all. Have to go digging when I'm capable of rational thought.

If you can not figure it out, just let me know where they file is located and I can download it and then save it under the other DDS format and upload it back up for you to download.  When I get home from work first, LOL.

hawkeyededic #48 Posted 14 August 2013 - 03:29 PM

    Resident Researcher

  • -Community Ace-
  • 2988 battles
  • 1,668
  • Member since:
    10-05-2012
It's one of mine, he PM'ed me about that and the P-40 but I'm at work so not had time to look into it yet.  

BTW: I have not tested the P-51 repaints with the res_mods folder or in open beta for that matter as I have not gotten to them in game yet.

Ok Lunch break is over so back to work for me.


 

Hawkeye's Hangar, your one stop spot for all my repaints. Like me on Facebook for news, updates and more.


SkyWolf__WM #49 Posted 14 August 2013 - 07:25 PM

    Captain

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 28973 battles
  • 3,808
  • [GW__S] GW__S
  • Member since:
    07-13-2012
Heh... I got it work.... by the dumbest solution ever devised. I was using Gimp and it's DDS plugin but it didn't save to the correct format so.....
I dl'd two freeware programs
"Easy to convert DDS to JPG"
and
"Easy to convert JPG to DDS
I run the the .dds to .jpg
Then run the .jpg to .dds
It saves into the correct format.
Stupid... but it works for us folks that don't have Photoshop.   :teethhappy:
***************Fail to Suck****************

I shall use my aircraft and my skill to slightly inconvenience mine enemies.


DrSinister #50 Posted 14 August 2013 - 07:29 PM

    High-Tech Medic

  • -Community Ace-
  • 4764 battles
  • 3,915
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostSkyWolf__WM, on 14 August 2013 - 07:25 PM, said:

Heh... I got it work.... by the dumbest solution ever devised. I was using Gimp and it's DDS plugin but it didn't save to the correct format so.....
I dl'd to freeware programs
"Easy to convert DDS to JPG"
and
"Easy to convert JPG to DDS
I run the the .dds to .jpg
Then run the .jpg to .dds
It saves into the correct format.
Stupid... but it works for us folks that don't have Photoshop.   :teethhappy:

What ever works, hehe.  At least you found a solution.

Bad_Lag #51 Posted 16 August 2013 - 08:11 AM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Alpha tester
  • 2209 battles
  • 738
  • [SICK] SICK
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Love the small lead indicator doc, thanks for sharing it.

DrSinister #52 Posted 16 August 2013 - 01:34 PM

    High-Tech Medic

  • -Community Ace-
  • 4764 battles
  • 3,915
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostBad_Lag, on 16 August 2013 - 08:11 AM, said:

Love the small lead indicator doc, thanks for sharing it.

NP, I have a even smaller one now, I will post it up when I get home, is a 3x3 pixel iirc.

Bad_Lag #53 Posted 16 August 2013 - 08:25 PM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Alpha tester
  • 2209 battles
  • 738
  • [SICK] SICK
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostDrSinister, on 16 August 2013 - 01:34 PM, said:

NP, I have a even smaller one now, I will post it up when I get home, is a 3x3 pixel iirc.

Oh nice, a smaller one would be better, will install it once you upload it.

DrSinister #54 Posted 16 August 2013 - 11:00 PM

    High-Tech Medic

  • -Community Ace-
  • 4764 battles
  • 3,915
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostBad_Lag, on 16 August 2013 - 08:25 PM, said:

Oh nice, a smaller one would be better, will install it once you upload it.

Updated the original post.  Have the smaller lead indicator and a newer crosshair.

FreeFOXMIKE #55 Posted 16 August 2013 - 11:37 PM

    G.A.T.P. (Global Alpha Test Pilot)

  • Member
  • 18037 battles
  • 6,471
  • [332ND] 332ND
  • Member since:
    10-25-2011
I have not used the mods yet (ty for making them but I will wait for the game release) my thing is skins but Make a back up  we have the new update MONDAY this MONDAY get ready for it I know the pain of forgetting and washing a skin / mod with the updates so back up ,backup,backup your work

           332 Virtual  Fighter  Group

 


DrSinister #56 Posted 17 August 2013 - 01:17 AM

    High-Tech Medic

  • -Community Ace-
  • 4764 battles
  • 3,915
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Yeah, some of my mods I use are broken for 0.5.1, because RU has it now and they already stated that some of the ones I use from RU forums are broken, but I will update when they get updated.

Bad_Lag #57 Posted 17 August 2013 - 01:27 AM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Alpha tester
  • 2209 battles
  • 738
  • [SICK] SICK
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Thanks again!

foozle #58 Posted 17 August 2013 - 02:49 AM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 703 battles
  • 116
  • Member since:
    05-03-2012
Am I understanding it right that the minimap can not be modded? For whatever reason it sometimes takes me an extra moment to key in on the white arrow (my location) on the minimap and I thought maybe an alternative color would help me better.

It looks like it is part of the pyc files located in C:\Games\World_of_Warplanes\res\scripts\client\gui

DrSinister #59 Posted 17 August 2013 - 01:10 PM

    High-Tech Medic

  • -Community Ace-
  • 4764 battles
  • 3,915
  • [DRACS] DRACS
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
pyc files can be edited but I do not know how to.

I know the grid overlay on Radar mod that I use is a mod of a pyc file.

Sandman1969 #60 Posted 19 August 2013 - 11:11 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Closed Beta Tester
  • 4515 battles
  • 2,173
  • Member since:
    01-28-2012
Is this compatible with the new patch?





Also tagged with DrSinister, Mods, Compilation

114 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 114 guests, 0 anonymous users